Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2004, 01:49   #1 (permalink)
wants a manual!
 
John_xr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 29
Posts: 1,461
Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

for all you car audio buffs out there i need to know what you think of this Sub. its a Rockford Fosgate "Punch" subwoofer. its got dual 4 ohm voice coils, 15", 500 watt RMS/ 1000 watt peak, sensitivity 90 db, frequency response 21-400 hz and the model number is RFP 1215. what sort of Amp should i run? monoblock, 4 channel bridged into 2 or a 2 channel. and what sort of wattage should the amp be? and also is Rockford a good brand? the sub is brand new and i might be swapping my Pioneer TSW-304 and box for it. so is it worth it??
__________________
1994 COBALT BLUE ED FAIRMONT GHIA
Next Mod - T5 Manual Conversion
Pics Here
John_xr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2004, 18:40   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 692
Re: Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

Rockford is a very good brand but you do need a good amp.

I have the Rockford 15" Punch HE2, with 1000w and run it at
2 ohms with the proper Rockford Amp ($1600) mono channel 1300w
I had it running at almost full stick (over powering the sub suposedly)
But it proved not to be the case, ran it like this for 2 years.
It is very good running like this.
Rockford is better than Pioneer, Kenwood, and definetely Sony.
A better one would be Alpine, but only the competition series.
The particular sub you are talking about is in line with these brands
being only a base model, you will be satisfied though.
TICK4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 18:48   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 692
Re: Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

BTW
Before I had this amp, I run it with the 4 channel Pioneer amp 600w
running it by bridging it to get the max power.
Although this appeared to run well you can only wire up the sub to
run on 4 ohm at the most, I tried 2 ohm.
It worked,(was louder than my rockford i think) but the amp would only run
for half hour before over heating and switching off.
Do not do this with an inferior amp!!!!!!!
Thats why I bought the Rockford so I can run it much louder (2 ohm)
and the amp was designed to do so.
I will look at those numbers on my chart tonight and advise on the
right Rockford amp.
TICK4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 21:06   #4 (permalink)
wants a manual!
 
John_xr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 29
Posts: 1,461
Re: Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

so its better than my pioneer that i currently have? also it has 2 inputs on it. do i run seperate channels to each one or two bridged channels? also its 4 ohm x2 does that mean when i buy an amp it has to have 4 ohm impendance per channel when in bridged mode?
__________________
1994 COBALT BLUE ED FAIRMONT GHIA
Next Mod - T5 Manual Conversion
Pics Here
John_xr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 21:07   #5 (permalink)
"Steve has a car?"
 
Rmyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 31
Posts: 2,207
Re: Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

Rockford Fosgate subs are great, although as TICK4D said, you need to power them properly as they are a little inefficient, but will go loud when done so. Seeing as yours is the base model, it shouln't need tonnes of power on tap, just don't run it off an audioline amp or something similar. I wouldn't recommend RF amps as they are quite dear and are a little hard to justify the amount spent. Possibly look into the JL audio range, maybe a 500.1 monoblock. Would run the sub perfectly, again a little dear, but definately makes up for it in the features and quality. Also it has it's own inbuilt power regulator, and will efectlively produce 500wrms at both 14v and at 12.5v, while other amps can lose around 1/3rd of there claimed power when voltage sags below 13v.

Alpines range of amps are also worth looking into, perhaps an MRD-500. Produces a healthy 500wrms when bridged to 2 ohms, and also class D, which makes them pretty efficient compared to class AB. Another coool little feature is time correction, which makes the bass hit more accurate especially in situations were the sub will be rear loaded.

The main question is how much are you willing to spend on an amp?? There's a million and one amps out there that are perfect for the job, but it all comes down to how much you $$$ your willing to part with. The two amps I mentioned above will set you back around the $800 mark...
__________________
Rmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 21:19   #6 (permalink)
wants a manual!
 
John_xr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 29
Posts: 1,461
Re: Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

i was thinking around the $600-$800 to spend. the amps you mentioned are monoblocks meaning they have 1 output? i am still not clear on how to hook them up and i dont know what ohms i need to run it at. also it has 2 sets of terminals on it do i run wires to both of them? i need as much help as i can get when it comes to amps an ohms.
__________________
1994 COBALT BLUE ED FAIRMONT GHIA
Next Mod - T5 Manual Conversion
Pics Here
John_xr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 22:05   #7 (permalink)
TPG
The Peoples Goalie #30
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 29
Re: Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

Any of the above mentioned amps would be fine for it. And are monoblocks, so yes you have 1 set of speaker outputs : +/-, red/black. BUT you have two sets of inputs on your sub?? Because its a dual voice coil sub (more wiring choice) it can run at either 2 ohm or 8 ohm. So to run the sub at 2 ohm you connect the + (red speaker terminal) on the amp to one of the + (red speaker) terminals on the sub. Then with another piece of speaker wire, connect the two + (red speaker terminals) on the sub together. Then connect the - (black speaker terminal) on the amp one of the - (black speaker terminals) of the sub. Then with another piece of wire, connect the two - (black speaker terminals) on the sub together.

This way the voice coils are run in parallel and hence with give a 2 ohm load, perfect for any 2ohm stable monoblock (which is about these days most of them)

Note the speaker outputs on the amp probably wont be red/black coloured by the product manual should show you clearly which is positive and which is negative.

This is my understanding of it, if anyone wants to clarify this, that would be great
TPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 22:17   #8 (permalink)
wants a manual!
 
John_xr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 29
Posts: 1,461
Re: Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

so i can run it at 2 ohms even though the sub is 2x4 ohms?
__________________
1994 COBALT BLUE ED FAIRMONT GHIA
Next Mod - T5 Manual Conversion
Pics Here
John_xr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 23:24   #9 (permalink)
"Steve has a car?"
 
Rmyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne
Age: 31
Posts: 2,207
Re: Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

IGNORE THIS POST!!!
__________________

Last edited by Rmyers; 03-08-2004 at 23:48. Reason: I'm an idiot
Rmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 23:31   #10 (permalink)
wants a manual!
 
John_xr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Age: 29
Posts: 1,461
Re: Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rmyers
To run it in series, hook up the + from the amp to one positive on the sub, then run one wire from that coils negative to the + of the other coil, then run the negative od that coil to the negative on the amp. That'll give you a 2 ohm load.
i want to run it like this. is it safe to do it on my sub Rmyers? thanks for the info BTW.
__________________
1994 COBALT BLUE ED FAIRMONT GHIA
Next Mod - T5 Manual Conversion
Pics Here
John_xr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Audio And Security



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.