BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2004, 00:45   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
LOWAU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Age: 31
Posts: 72
BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

I was wondering if a BA 6 head(non-turbo) can be installed on an AU or any other E series ford 6.

I know you will need the BA ECU, but other than that is everything else the same or similar?

Any comments or opinions will be appreciated.
LOWAU is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-21-2004, 00:47   #2 (permalink)
BOFH
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Giving the finger to speedcams
Age: 43
Posts: 7,777
Re: BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

No and No.

Twin cam v's single cam. Not possible.
__________________

Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 01:36   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
LOWAU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Age: 31
Posts: 72
Re: BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

I thought the bottom end is the same, arn't the cams overhead.

Can the whole head of a BA including cams be bolted to a SOHC motor?

I am probably wrong again but its worth a try.
LOWAU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 01:40   #4 (permalink)
Crazed Cone Chaser
 
MADXF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,524
Re: BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

The BA engine was a very large redesign, damn close to full redesign.

The secondary shaft (the old camshaft from the crossflow) that drove the oil pump and dizzy/crank angle sensor has been removed, along with a lot of other changes in the design of the block.
__________________
Do I really have to write something funny in here?

DILLIGAF: a subsiduary of the DGAF NOP group of companies.
BSR Member - 'Blanky' 'ConeKiller'

Go Here for My Garage Sale
MADXF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 01:43   #5 (permalink)
BOFH
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Giving the finger to speedcams
Age: 43
Posts: 7,777
Re: BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

You can try to bolt on the head but I think you'll find theres nothing to make the cams work.
__________________

Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 01:45   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
LOWAU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Age: 31
Posts: 72
Re: BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

ohhhhhhhhh

Thanks for the info.
LOWAU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 04:56   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ebs_4l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 476
Re: BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

no, i placed a ba head gasket over an au block long time ago, i remember the ba head being fair bit wider, galleries etc didnt line up...
__________________
eb6, t5, stg3 crow, chip, ceramic button clutch, pacemakers, 2.5in stainless, unifilter pod, ported head, thermos, pedders s/low, LSD.... 144.5rwkw so far
ebs_4l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 02:19   #8 (permalink)
no tire smoke no fun!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 458
Re: BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

apart from being smoother is the BA engine much better then the AU? I mean for the money involved in outsourcing i think the AU is a better choice. I drove a BA futura and it has none of the torque the AU series3 has, and the AU felt faster although a bit more lethargic at high revs. The BA must be a hell of a lot heavier then the AU or Ef/El series.

I tried the same thing with the head gasket, it's quite a way off and the front is quite different, where the timing chain goes throgh
__________________
EF Futura, XR6 spec head, lowered, T5 conversion, 2.5" catback, AU XR8 snorkle w/ K&N

There is a war inside my head, if I take a day off I'll die!

This cat, is cat, a cat, good cat, way cat, to cat, keep cat, a cat, idiot cat, busy cat, for cat, 20 cat, seconds cat! Now read it all without the word cat!
zbenga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 12:54   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Loud-EA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 49
Re: BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

upgrading engines from sohc to dohc is fairly straight forward if the head fits, best example would be the corolla motor, another is the commodore VL, its a common upgrade to dohc from one of the turbo nissan skylines. All u need is the chain to drive the cam. Ive often wondered if there isnt a nice I6 motor out there with same bore & galleries setup that has dohc whose head would suit our I6's.

Sorry for the bump but I felt SOHC -> DOHC needed clarifying.
Loud-EA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 17:29   #10 (permalink)
Got my 3.45 LSD!
 
AU dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 214
Re: BA6 head on a AU6, Can it be done? Has it been done?

It would have been awesome if it did fit, how much more would it rev? has anyone ever driven a VTEC honda motor or GTi swift, with there twin cam they just love to rev. Even with the rb30 motor teamed with an rb25 head is a big performance increase.
__________________
AU1 Forte - 17'' AU2 Tickford rims on all corners, Super low springs,
KYB shock absorbs + camber castor kit and a 3.45 LSD.

Built with spanners, not chopsticks.
AU dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
advice for blown head gasket XMU2drescue Inline 6 Tech 15 07-23-2004 23:24
head unit plug, and which wires which. ea_endo Interior | Electrical | ECU 6 07-02-2004 01:57
Difference between EA SPAK CFI 3.9L Head, & EB MPFI 4.0 Head. +EA SPAK Parts For Sale samsonEB Inline 6 Tech 5 06-27-2004 06:38
Head Porting E series six turbotrana Inline 6 Tech 2 06-20-2004 06:21
Falcon EA head repair costs paulr Inline 6 Tech 5 07-10-2003 07:29

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:40.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.