Can't set timing - Harmonic Balancer ?? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2004, 00:58   #1 (permalink)
ben
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 264
Can't set timing - Harmonic Balancer ??

Well i cant get my timing notch anywhere near the mark, Terminals A and B are shorted to enter diagnosis mode, im using a 0 offset Gun and i am taking it off spark lead number 1 (I thought the dizzy might have been put in wrong meaning i should set it off another lead, but all the others are way out)

The closest i can get it is about an inch away from the timing mark, rotating the dizzy clockwise or anti clockwise from where it is now, results in poor performance, so i know im close

most likely the harmonic balancer has slipped ???

ben
ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-20-2004, 02:15   #2 (permalink)
Sandwich Connoisseur
 
donno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: On Campus - University of QLD
Age: 28
Posts: 955
Re: Can't set timing - Harmonic Balancer ??

harmonic ballancer can't slip. its got a tight grove that it sits on the crank to keep it in place.
__________________
1993 ED Futura

I6, 5sp Factory Manual , Wade 1636, Pacemaker PH4480s, HF Cat, Cat-Back 2 1/2" Mandrel Bent Lukey Zorst, Car-puter, XR Front and AUII Clear Side Indicators.

Dull Alloy factory mags, ooo yeah.

Proud TQE Operator
donno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 02:24   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 517
Re: Can't set timing - Harmonic Balancer ??

nah, the outer and inner are seperate parts. Mine has slipped about 20 deg
stockstandard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 02:40   #4 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
Re: Can't set timing - Harmonic Balancer ??

You need to find true TDC and then make another mark on the balancer as a short term fix. you can do this by gutting a spark plug and welding a 1 inch ron onto the end. Screw it into #1 and turn the engine till the piston hist the rod. Make a mark on the balancer going off the TDC mark on the timing case. Turn the engine backwards till the piston hitsd again and make another mark. Then using calipers or something to measure the distance between the 2 marks, divide that by 2 and put another halfway. That will be your new TDC mark.

I've had 2 engines where the outer ring has slipped.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 03:05   #5 (permalink)
Sandwich Connoisseur
 
donno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: On Campus - University of QLD
Age: 28
Posts: 955
Re: Can't set timing - Harmonic Balancer ??

For a full fix just get a new one, 60 bucks or so exchange, mine new ballancer a while ago came with it pre marked.
__________________
1993 ED Futura

I6, 5sp Factory Manual , Wade 1636, Pacemaker PH4480s, HF Cat, Cat-Back 2 1/2" Mandrel Bent Lukey Zorst, Car-puter, XR Front and AUII Clear Side Indicators.

Dull Alloy factory mags, ooo yeah.

Proud TQE Operator
donno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 03:32   #6 (permalink)
ben
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 264
Re: Can't set timing - Harmonic Balancer ??

This might be helpful for any EL owners

With the EA falcon i used to have, you needed to set the timing within the first 2 minutes of being in self diagnosis mode, it seems as though on the EL, you must first WAIT 2 minutes, and then do it....timing is fine now.

thanks

ben
ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 03:42   #7 (permalink)
If Only I Had Lexus Power
 
redGhia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 30
Posts: 827
Re: Can't set timing - Harmonic Balancer ??

i was going to say i looked at the timing on my el and it was waaaaay out by looks, but after i had new leads on it stayed at the same mark but had the correct timing set and didnt misfire at all
__________________
Have you driven a Ford....lateley?
Advertising has come along way-----But still not far enough!!!!!
** EL XR 6 -- Exhaust Technology System, PH4499, Stainless CAI, BMC Twin Filter, Koni Yellow, King Super Lows,DBA 4000 Rotors, Extreme Ceramic Clutch
Bugatti Veyron 16.4 ---- W 16 Configuration, Quad Turbo 1001 HP, 1250Nm, 4 Wheel Drive
redGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove harmonic balancer? Matador General Tech 10 08-03-2008 08:03
harmonic balancer kcoyne Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum 26 06-04-2007 14:17
Harmonic balancer snavy Inline 6 Tech 7 05-08-2004 03:06
Broken tooth on harmonic balancer, Please help ASAP Rmyers General Tech 4 11-12-2003 17:13
5ltr harmonic Balancer going!!! blueoval Windsor Tech 11 06-19-2003 23:23

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.