convert au to ea - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-31-05, 04:15 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
convert au to ea

want to trow au motor into ea how easy is it and wot hurdle are there ??
can it still run vct ??

kayninfrd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-31-05, 04:26 AM
Can't wait for Winton...
 
outback_ute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Victoria
Posts: 2,759
Re: convert au to ea

I'm not right up to speed on all the details but I will have a go at a couple of points for you. There may be an issue with sump clearance (it is cast alloy not pressed tin like the old style ones) but it is not far off. Easiest way would be to throw in the motor and use an EA multipoint ecu to run it - later models need Smartlock installed to function properly. Only XR6 VCT, Fairmont Ghia, Fairlane & LTDs had VCT engines - if you are referring to the intake manifold, refer to the comment re needing smarlock. Also do a search on "broadband manifold conversion" there might be some easy ways around it.
outback_ute is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-01-05, 06:07 AM
EMW ??? Whats missing ?
 
INJECTED250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Age: 34
Posts: 1,092
Re: convert au to ea

SUMP is no problem , requires only a little grinding.. dont bother with VCT

EB FALCON
98 T5 gear box (was auto)
Wade 977b cam
3.7 lsd
AU bottem end
ELXR6 ported Head
PH4480 Pacemakers
INJECTED250 is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-01-05, 06:53 PM
EB4U2C
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: altona with a boner
Age: 73
Posts: 50
Re: convert au to ea

Why Would You Want To Put An Ea Motor In A Au

eb fairmont wagon 5 speed swartz black :
EB4U2C is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-15-05, 11:30 PM
Seriously Disturbed
 
Disturbed_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 95
Re: convert au to ea

Quote:
Originally Posted by EB4U2C
Why Would You Want To Put An Ea Motor In A Au
Hey genious, he said put an AU motor into an EA

'92 EBII
Soon to come: Full engine rebuild, Race pistons, Performance cam, Full Defillipo Performance Exhaust
Disturbed_Dave is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-15-05, 11:55 PM
Registered User
 
RAVEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,561
Re: convert au to ea

hey get a life disturbed dave. is bagging other people all you have to to with your spare time. Why dont you go and paint some more of your car.
RAVEN is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-16-05, 09:55 PM
Seriously Disturbed
 
Disturbed_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 95
Re: convert au to ea

no not at all actually... but its not worth getting into it, when these forums are meant for helping, and if painting parts of my car is what i like, i will do it. just so happens its the only thing affordable i can do at the moment, if you dont like it, then keep it quiet

'92 EBII
Soon to come: Full engine rebuild, Race pistons, Performance cam, Full Defillipo Performance Exhaust
Disturbed_Dave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome