Diagnostic Plug? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2005, 23:03   #1 (permalink)
Fed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Question Diagnostic Plug?

Does anyone know where I can get a diagnostic plug for my EF 6 Cyl?
I'd like to make up a little tester to download the codes.
Or does anyone know of a tester that can be purchased?
Fed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2005, 00:01   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 50
Re: Diagnostic Plug?

There has been extensive discussion on this topic in the past. You may wish to search the forums. Some points however:

a) you can buy the plug from America, but it is expensive
b) if your cheap (like me) you can construct your own test apparatus for about $4, instructions (and codes) in the forums.
Gargoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 00:15   #3 (permalink)
Fed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Re: Diagnostic Plug?

Thanks for the tip, I did do a single search for "diagnostic" so I haven't been totally lazy. If I ever find it I'll post the link here for others. Thanks again.
Fed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:09   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
RAVEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,562
Re: Diagnostic Plug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargoyle
There has been extensive discussion on this topic in the past. You may wish to search the forums. Some points however:

a) you can buy the plug from America, but it is expensive
b) if your cheap (like me) you can construct your own test apparatus for about $4, instructions (and codes) in the forums.
post a link for us!
__________________
240rwkw slug.
RAVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 01:21   #5 (permalink)
Fed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Re: Diagnostic Plug?

PSIWGN, Gargoyle was right, there is a heap of information in the forums, probably too much for me. It will take some time, which I don't have, to go through it all.
I just want to go to the shop, give them some money and walk out with something I can plug into my car to retrieve the codes.
They must have sold a billion Falcons in the 90s, life should be easier than this. :(
Fed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 03:06   #6 (permalink)
1990 S pac
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 107
Re: Diagnostic Plug?

U only need a LED and a 560 ohm resistor. Put restor end to 12v and led lead to diag pin and read the flashing codes. if nothing change the leads around.
clive45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 19:32   #7 (permalink)
Fed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Re: Diagnostic Plug?

"There has been extensive discussion on this topic in the past."

Yeah, lots of talk but no action.

No one seems to really know where to get a plug from.
I'm told that there is a plug in the loom behind the passenger's side of the dash but I'm yet to confirm that at a wreckers.

No leads to any manufactured testers either.

Just a lot of talk.
Fed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 00:37   #8 (permalink)
1990 S pac
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 107
Re: Diagnostic Plug?

don't be bloo-y lazy make a tester. only need a shorting link and a led and resistor. Should take all of 15 mins
clive45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 00:54   #9 (permalink)
Fed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Re: Diagnostic Plug?

Clive, I've been an electrician for nearly 40 years, I could make a tester in my sleep.
I want the plug so I can let other people use it to without having to worry about them connecting to the wrong pins & frying their computers.
Interestingly, not 1 person has said where to get a plug or buy a tester.
Fed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 01:03   #10 (permalink)
1990 S pac
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 107
Re: Diagnostic Plug?

Sorry I did not realise what u required it for. These types of plugs are very hard to purchase because they are usually manufactured specially for the industry. May I suggest that u search the wreckers too see if any vehicle has a plug that may fit. I know that its a big job buuit may be lucky. I spend a fair amount of time at wreckers and I will keep my eyes open as I have a spare socket I can take with me.
Please PM me if u get it sorted so I dont keep going after u have solved the prob.

Good luck

Clive
clive45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:25.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.