EA 3speed to 4speed auto conversion..anyone done it? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-26-03, 03:44 AM Thread Starter
Chromed Member
 
botch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: driving around with bent pushr
Posts: 1,810
EA 3speed to 4speed auto conversion..anyone done it?

looking at putting el box into NA.

appartently very early ea's (first with 4speed elec autos) had separate loooms and computers for the tranny. Does anyone know if this is true. Does the loom go inside as well as outside the firewall....i.e under dash.

i have heard that the computer mounts above the handbrake, but was wondering if factory loom (non-4speed) would have the right plugs there already.

any help appreciated.



botch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-26-03, 02:25 PM
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 45
Posts: 3,838
Re: EA 3speed to 4speed auto conversion..anyone done it?

I will be climbing under my EA 3 speed on the weekend to do a few things, will have a look, but after my stereo install and pulling out the centre console, I saw no evedince of any wires going to the gearbox for that purpose.

Dellboy999

I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-29-03, 05:01 PM
now with EF power!
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rockhampton, QLD
Age: 30
Posts: 891
Re: EA 3speed to 4speed auto conversion..anyone done it?

EA (ones with 4 speed auto) and EB1 had separate auto computers.

There are two wires that connect to the actual car ECU, but im not 100% sure what they do.

1994 EF Falcon.
(4.0 Auto)


Mods List:
Kenwood head deck, Rockford Fosgate Punch Sub and Punch Amp....and hubcaps!!



My Gallery!
Proud TQE Operator
danege is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 11-29-03, 11:20 PM
Looking in YOUR bathroom.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 32
Posts: 3,287
Re: EA 3speed to 4speed auto conversion..anyone done it?

The EA II 4speed has a loom from the Trans computer that goes out through the fire wall, where it plugs (round plug) into the ECU/ENGINE/TRANS looms directly behind the engine on the fire wall.

Ive been described as a vault of usless random knowledge.

Ill take it as a complement i think.............
Walkinshaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto to manual conversion guide mongrelEB Trans | Driveline 79 12-18-11 02:27 PM
Help on EA 4sp Auto stuffup!! mccann Trans | Driveline 2 06-21-03 01:07 AM
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-03 09:13 AM
EA 4speed Auto Diff Change vbman187 Trans | Driveline 6 12-03-02 02:10 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome