EA Head Gaskets & Bolts - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-30-02, 07:43 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 24
EA Head Gaskets & Bolts

Hi Guys,

I picked up a good second hand EA head which I'm putting on
my fairmont on the weekend. It's been machined and the water ports are nice and clean. It hadn't been on the old car long before the car got banged up.

Am I safe going to my local repco joint in perth to pick up a gasket set and bolts. Would I need to tell 'em I want head bolts for a late model falcon or are they all the same now?


Cheers

Frankowitz

frankowitz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-30-02, 10:28 PM
400 kg ego
 
Troutman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,188
The following thread may be of assistance:

http://discussions.fordforums.com/sh...ighlight=bolts

I understand that the AU bolts are the best.

Jack Travis, E-Series Acting President

1989 Ford Fairmont Ghia turbo/GL replica (underway)
1994 Eunos 800M
1990 Ford Laser S
Troutman is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-30-02, 11:21 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 24
Thanks Jack!!
frankowitz is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-30-02, 11:54 PM
donuts2001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'd be surprised if they have the bolts(well the right bolts) so go down to ford and pay the $80 for a set of AU falcon headbolts.

Repco is the best place to go for headgaskets as they sell quality ACL gaskets, whereas most other places sell the cheap and nasty Gas Miser and Ezyfit and when it comes to headgaskets I don't like skimping quality.

But they will probably try to charge you $70+ for one so when you go in there tell them you can get it cheaper else where for like $50 and they will drop the price down $10-$20 for it from standard(hehe, repco are good like that)

Oh and make sure before you put the new gasket in that the block surfaces and head surfaces are thoroughly prepared, by sanding the block back with fine sandpaper until it's back to shiny metal surface, and clean the head surface with some petrol. Good luck dood.
 
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-31-02, 12:02 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 24
Thanks Donuts

I'll need all the luck I can get. Yeah, my repco in balcatta allways
blows marlows next door to it out of the water with prices.

I hope the bottom end will hold out once i get the beastie on.

many thanks

Frankowitz
frankowitz is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-31-02, 05:10 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 3,105
I find Veales cheaper than Repco and they also sell the ACL stuff.

Regards Blue
Aussiblue is online now  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-31-02, 10:57 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 24
You're right Aussieblue - thanks for the tip

Picked up an ACL head set for 78 bucks.
(Head, inlet, exhaust and rocker cover gaskets)

Now....about these AU bolts into an EA.

Do I torque them up according to max ellery
(40nm then a further 90deg - all in correct sequence)?

Do these au bolts require retorquing after around 800 kms?

If so, can someone shed some light on the re-torquing process.

thanks everyone

Regards

Frankowitz
frankowitz is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-01-02, 08:17 AM
donuts2001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yep you need to do them in the sequence as in the Max Ellery Book, or you can use the sequence that you would have got with the ACL head set.

Oh and make sure you do them all up 40nm in order, and then after you have tightened all the bolts to 40nm, tighten them in order again another 90 degree's.

Don't do what I did and try tightening the bolts 40nm and then another 90 degree's one bolt at a time.. it don't work very well, hehe.
 
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-02, 10:24 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 24
Wow those AU bolt heads have a bigger diameter than the oldies. So much so that I was worried that they were too big for the rocker arm assembly wouldn't fit.

It does though...only just...With a bee's dick for clearance.

Cheers

Frankowitz
frankowitz is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-03-02, 11:02 PM
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 66
Posts: 4,692
I just have a question. I have just taken my head off to fit a reconditioned EF head and i was surprised by the way the water passages are and how the gasket is. Down one side the gasket has no holes for the water passages, the other side has a small hole drilled in the gasket and the last two are open. at the front of the motor the gasket has holes for the water passage but theres none on the head! What happens there is the head gets eaten into. When I took the head off the ef motor, only 2 of the 5 holes down the side were actually flowing. Seems a strange setup to me.
NZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Bolts For EA Falcon menace General Tech 3 10-10-02 05:12 PM
EA head bolts scooterscum Inline 6 Tech 4 08-11-02 04:25 PM
head bolts creature3 General Tech 8 07-31-02 06:36 AM
4.6 head gaskets and bolts CHEAP!!! tim87114 Modular Tech 0 12-24-01 10:00 PM
4.6 head gaskets and bolts CHEAP!!! tim87114 Modular Tech 0 12-24-01 09:27 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome