EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2003, 05:33   #1 (permalink)
EA-S MPI 5-Speed
 
BoZZa17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Age: 28
Posts: 403
EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm *HELP*

heyy,
i recently bought an EA MPI 5speed, and the engine seemed a bit rough between 1000 and 1500 rpm, so i told the guy before i bought it that i wanted it fixed, he got his mechanic to fix it while he was doing the roadworthy for me.

since then i have had the car for a week, and the other day i washed out my engine bay at carlovers with the degreaser stuff then rinsed it, while trinsing it i lost 2 cylinders i think. and limped it home to dry out (water in spark plugs or something) and when it come good again. it feels like the original problem, before i bought the car, seems to shudder/run rough between 1000 and 1500 rpm. (in any gear).

what do you guys think could be the problem?
has anyone else had this problem before?

thanks in advance
-BoZZa

Last edited by BoZZa17; 10-09-2003 at 22:43.
BoZZa17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2003, 05:37   #2 (permalink)
Looking in YOUR bathroom.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide
Age: 30
Posts: 3,287
Re: EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm

mabey look for cracked rotor cap (on the dizzy).
__________________
Ive been described as a vault of usless random knowledge.

Ill take it as a complement i think.............
Walkinshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2003, 23:36   #3 (permalink)
EA-S MPI 5-Speed
 
BoZZa17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Age: 28
Posts: 403
Re: EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm

i will check it now,
anyone else got any ideas?
i was thinking maybe one of my injectors is a bit iffy.

ta
BoZZa17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2003, 07:25   #4 (permalink)
donuts2001
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm

Was it a factory 5 speed, or aftermarket one put in?

If your car was not a 5 speed out of the factory, you might wanna check if you have the Auto computer in there still. The Auto computers don't seem to like being in the 1000-1200RPM range(wants to adjust back to idle)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2003, 08:44   #5 (permalink)
EA-S MPI 5-Speed
 
BoZZa17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Age: 28
Posts: 403
Re: EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm

how can i check to see what computer i have?
BoZZa17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 22:42   #6 (permalink)
EA-S MPI 5-Speed
 
BoZZa17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Age: 28
Posts: 403
Re: EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm

guys i am still having this problem
does anybody else know what could possibly going on?

its starting to worry me
i dont know where to look, its a strange problem =\

thanks.
BoZZa17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 05:16   #7 (permalink)
NB & NCII V8 Fairlanes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 2,816
Re: EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm

Cracked coil? Bad lead?
__________________
Regards Blue
Aussiblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 05:19   #8 (permalink)
NB & NCII V8 Fairlanes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bibra Lake Western Australia
Posts: 2,816
Re: EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm

Take one lead off at a time while engine is running (a) use insulated plug lead pliers or (b) Heavy Duty rubber gloves and wear rubber soled shoes and don't earth yorself with the other hand) and if one makes no difference to idle speed its a bad lead. Also check at night in dark and see if any of the leads are glowing abnormally or sparking between each other.
__________________
Regards Blue
Aussiblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 18:12   #9 (permalink)
Not a Joe Lunchpail
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dorkland, NZ
Posts: 309
Re: EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm

I don't think your engine bay cleaning is related to your poor idle.

You have to start with the basics. Check the leads & plugs as Aussiblue described.

I have a XF MPFI. I too had a shitty idle. It was a corroded head. Does yours push the water into the overflow when hot & not draw it back into the radiator when cold?
yeah right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 04:13   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TaraHymen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 354
Re: EA MPI rough from 1000->1500rpm

hi, you would know if the wrong computer is in there. the auto computer cuts the injectors on decel - if it did that with a 5 speed it would stall the engine everytime u put your foot on the clutch. another way to tell if u have a manual ecu is that the engine idle should increase by about 100 rpm when u put it in gear(clutch engaged or not) as there is a "gear switch" on the gearbox which is wired in with the power steering switch to idle the engine up when a load is detected.

i agree with aussieble and yeahright - start with the basics, check your leads arent arc'ing to the rocker cover - looks like a grey chalky residue where the leads touch the rocker cover. if thats there - they're rooted.

out of interest if you want to isolate which cylinder is missing you can do what aussieblue said about pulling the high tension leads off one by one but as i'm very sensitive to 80,000 volts running up my arm(no matter how much insulation i use LOL) you can also pull the injector plugs off one by one to have the same effect.

it could be one of a million things. try those, if that doesnt work sing out
TaraHymen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA to ED Falcon review Aussie Falcon The Pub 13 08-24-2004 20:35
XD monts same as EA engine monts ?a 351 into a EA will it go ? Falcon kid General Tech 31 06-21-2004 22:58
EA in Wheels' all-time top 10 Falcons. However... Troutman Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 36 02-22-2004 02:06
MASSIVE CLEAROUT! (Audio, alarms, EA parts) SPHELL Audio And Security 39 05-31-2002 17:17
EA 3.9mpi / EA S Factory Cams EA S Inline 6 Tech 6 07-23-2001 03:58

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.