EF XR6 Idle/stalling problems - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2001, 02:39   #1 (permalink)
Australian EF XR6 Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wollongong
Age: 47
Posts: 155
confused EF XR6 Idle/stalling problems

My XR has developed a bad habbit of stalling when coasting down to traffic lights/stop signs, turning into driveways etc....

However, once the car as has established a proper idle, it idles fine. The car still seems to be performing OK.

We have done the following:

1. Pulled the fault codes from the computer - the only faults relate to base idle speed problems (funny that..)

2. Cleaned throttle body, removed, cleaned and tested idle speed motor and passageways

3. Adjusted base idle speed - this has made the problem better, but car still almost stalls, but usually recovers - still seems like something is wrong.

Any suggestions as to what we should try next?
QuarterPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2001, 05:04   #2 (permalink)
Shh i'm huntin more power
 
Jase_ELXR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,764
we had one in a while ago doing that. It ended up being the coolant sensor and the computer....
Jase_ELXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2002, 19:37   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mildura
Posts: 16
QuaterPounder, i am very interested in the probs you are having with your xr6, because mine is doing the exact same thing. I've got an AU II x6 hp but it's got a mock dev 4 kit in it.
Mocky's tell me that the computer is stuffed and that they are finding it common that the computers just need changing, just i'm having trouble convincing my local ford dearler to change mine in waranty cos of the mods and that there are no codes comming up. Please help and let me know how you have gone with yours
AGXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2002, 03:56   #4 (permalink)
Stand clear: 5.0 in use!
 
V8 Ghia Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adelaide, South Oz
Posts: 150
Hey Jase, what about the 5.0? Mine does the same, will not start without throttle when cold either. Checked and cleaned out the idle controller (thanks EDXR8), all wiring and sensor connections OK.

I'me beginning to think that a new coil, dizzy cap and rotor are required...all original with 245,000 on 'em.

Any thoughts?

Mike
__________________
'We drew a line in the sand. No one would kick sand in our faces again!' G.P.

EF Fairmont Ghia, Bordeaux Purple, 5.0 Windsor, Crane cam, ChipTorque modded ECU, full XR bodykit, 16 inch XR8 alloys, 2.5 inch dropped Tickford suspension, full grey leather trim with chrome, woodgrain and lots of lights, climate control, ABS, Premium sound, trip computer, power everything

I can't get enough of this!
V8 Ghia Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2002, 04:20   #5 (permalink)
Australian EF XR6 Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wollongong
Age: 47
Posts: 155
Still got the same problem.

It went away for a while after the dyno day early this year, but had recently come back.....
QuarterPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 19:20   #6 (permalink)
P1mp Daddy
 
bigred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 518
Had the same problems in the ED after i got it back from smash repairs.

Turned out to be a dodgey spark plug lead.
__________________
home.ozonline.com.au/will/
www.livejournal.com/users/winstonwolf/
bigred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 01:06   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Warrnambool
Posts: 117
QuarterPounder, The IAC (idle air controller) motor isn't operating, the fault could be with the IAC motor or the PCM. Best way to find out is try and borrow a IAC motor off another car and see if this fixes the problem, or if you are handy with a multimeter check for a frequency on the wire to the pcm (160Hz), can't remember which color , it's the one that does't have 12volts supplied.
steed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 02:34   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
xl250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 39
could be an EGO too...

After my fairmont was dyno'ed the exhaust gas sensor died in the bum...

Worth a look into...
__________________
Cheers,
Mike Jones
kaitlinj@optushome.com.au

1994 EF Fairmont Ghia
1963 XL Falcon Deluxe
1986 ZL Fairlane
xl250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 03:35   #9 (permalink)
In a blue Galaxy
 
Cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Geelong, Victoria
Posts: 5,716
Quote:
Originally posted by xl250
could be an EGO too...

After my fairmont was dyno'ed the exhaust gas sensor died in the bum...

Worth a look into...
EGO? Or do yuo mean EGR? As in an Exhaust Gas Recirculation Valve?
__________________
O.F.R #12
1999 AU XR8
14.594 @ 94.40mph
152.2RWKW (APS dyno)
Switchable Shift Kit, K&N panel filter, Lukey straight thru mufflers, momo gear and steer,
DBA slotted rotors/Bendix ultimate pads (front), Pioneer MP3 head unit and BA XR carpet mats.

Member of the Society Against Stupid SMS Language
Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 06:31   #10 (permalink)
Stoked Ford Owner!
 
kryzak260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East Gippsland, Victoria
Posts: 126
My EL Futura I6 and NL Fairlane Ghia I6 did exactly the same thing aswell. It happened about 3 months into its life on the futura, and about 9 months on the fairlane.

Just took em both into the ford dealer, under warrenty, who then just changed out the computer. Cant remember which computer, but i would imagine that steed is on the right track...
__________________
'98 EL Futura Sapphire 4.0L I6 - Alpine CDA-9815 HU - Nothing else yet
kryzak260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between EF XR6 & Standard I6 Engine PEGASUS Inline 6 Tech 16 05-06-2004 22:57
EF XR6 Cam into an EF XR_Strider_GuY Inline 6 Tech 6 04-14-2002 19:14
Would An EF XR6 ECU Be Ok On My Modified Non XR6 ? redwards General Tech 6 07-04-2001 03:35

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:17.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.