EL cam in EA. - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2003, 14:58   #1 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
EL cam in EA.

I just picked up a cheap EL cam to put in my 3.9L MPFI EA. I was just wondering what sort of gains I should get? I know it's not going to be anything wild, but I'm assuming it's better than the one in it. Also will a different cam change my exhaust note at all?
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2003, 17:23   #2 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
I have come across a problem! I've installed the cam, but now the car won't start!!! Is it the cam causing this?? I'll try disconnecting the computer and see how I go. Any help ASAP would be appreciated!
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2003, 17:55   #3 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
The engine seems to be cranking a lot quicker than usual which makes me think that there is no compression due to incorrect cam timing. The cam timing was spot on with the 3.9L one, do a i need to advance or retard the EL one?
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2003, 18:34   #4 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
If you didnt move the teeth on the cam sprocket it should be right.

Otherwise put the engine on TDC and check the cam sprocket mark is level with the top of the head on the intake side
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2003, 18:39   #5 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
Otherwise if the oil has drained from the rockers, keep cranking it. When i put a set of reconditioneds rockers on i thought the same thing and it would fire occasionally on 1 cylinder. After turning over for about 3 mins it fired and started roughly but got better after a few mins. Now it has no probs.
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2003, 18:40   #6 (permalink)
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 31
Posts: 2,494
did u put the spark plugs back in

hehe check to see if you have knocked the coil HT lead off
__________________
Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2003, 18:50   #7 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
Found the problem guys. The pin on the timing chain sprocket snapped off and the cam isn't turning. It also snapped the bolt that holds the sprocket on. Why the F**K did that happen???? I'm going to the wreckers in a minute to get another sprocket and bolt. Please don't tell me the head has to come off to change it!

It didn't lose any teeth because i tied it with wire so the chain wouldn't move. HOW DID IT BREAK ALL THAT???
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2003, 22:09   #8 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
I've changed the sprocket and bolt. It's sweet now.

Now I'm guessing the rockers need shimming as rattles and taps like a 50yr old diesel truck. Also, it's running rich. Will the computer sort that out after a while or will it need a chip?
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 00:08   #9 (permalink)
96 EF Futura
 
SiX_iN_a_RoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Now Residing in Brisbane
Age: 31
Posts: 2,494
Your shouldnt need different shims, as far as I know anyway, how many K's had the EL motor done that it was taken out of, its possible it is a re-grind too.
__________________
Lets go find that Hotdog tree I planted

Lowered EF Futura
Black Steelies ( too cheap to buy proper mags )
SiX_iN_a_RoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 01:38   #10 (permalink)
Formerly EAII_Fairmont
 
AUII_Forte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dubbo NSW
Age: 29
Posts: 917
The cam is out of a 98 EL that was written off a few weeks after it's purchase, so the cam is pretty much new. The head on my motor has done nearly 300,000k's. There was a lot of play in the rockers when I put the cam in. I took it for a quick drive and it feels as if it's lost a lot of power, but that may be due to the rockers not opening the valves at the right time.

It doesn't seem as if its running as rich now, the black smoke has stopped anyway. Any ideas guys? I'm going out to chuck the EA cam back in in a minute which will be interesting in the dark! lol.
__________________
1992 AXII Telstar TX5 Ghia

121kW 2.5L DOHC V6 in a car that weighs 1100kg's and looks like a 4 banger from the outside......SLEEPER!

1988 EA S Pak 3spd CFI.....Soon to be a 250rwkw HSV eating machine.
Latest update......MPFI!!
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA vs EF, EL, AU Steve General Tech 17 04-16-2005 05:59
EL XR6 into my EA EA-XR6 E-Series Falcons 10 07-26-2004 00:55
EL ECU into EA Thanatos E-Series Falcons 30 02-23-2004 04:14
EL 4.0 into EA (a bit long) Walkinshaw General Tech 12 08-02-2002 01:00

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.