EL cam into an EA? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2004, 16:35   #1 (permalink)
Green's Tuff!
 
Heritage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wonthaggi, Victoria
Age: 40
Posts: 802
EL cam into an EA?

What would the benefit be, (if any) of installing an EL cam, into a CFI EA?
__________________




Heritage is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2004, 16:48   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 1,212
Re: EL cam into an EA?

I think u would go backwards !!!
__________________
regards
Stephen
clevo400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 16:52   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 1,212
Re: EL cam into an EA?

I recall the specs.
I'm sure EA cams are slightly bigger than EL.
EA 258/256 duration @ 0.50"
compared to
EL 252/256 duration @ 0.50"
I think
XR6 was 260/260 duration @ 0.50"
All with the same lift

Anyone can confirm specs ???
__________________
regards
Stephen
clevo400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 16:53   #4 (permalink)
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 2,580
Re: EL cam into an EA?

Bugger all.
The very first mod for a CFI is to convert it to MPFI. It's cheap, easy to do, and is excellent bang for your buck. It will make a much bigger improvement than any other mod that you can do to a CFI.

Rick.
__________________
4L I6, naturally aspirated producing 173.5rwkw.
14.410 @ 96.49mph with street radials.
What's that?..... Did I hear you say TQE power?
Soxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 17:03   #5 (permalink)
Green's Tuff!
 
Heritage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wonthaggi, Victoria
Age: 40
Posts: 802
Re: EL cam into an EA?

oh ok, it's not for my car, and seeing as I just changed the cam in my car to a wade cam, I have a spare EL cam now, and my step-daughter has a CFI EA so I thought I could put it in there for her, but if its not worth it, I wont. :)
__________________




Heritage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 17:35   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 1,212
Re: EL cam into an EA?

Has any deceded to dump the CFI off and use an adapter and a Holley instead ???
__________________
regards
Stephen
clevo400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 18:08   #7 (permalink)
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 2,580
Re: EL cam into an EA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevo400
Has any deceded to dump the CFI off and use an adapter and a Holley instead ???
Why would you bother?
Firstly, a Holley wouldn't run any better than the two injectors.
Secondly, a new 350 Holley would cost more than the MPFI conversion, and the MPFI will easily outperform the Holley.

There are stacks of wrecking yards with MPFI setups just waiting to be ripped off and put onto a CFI engine.

Rick.
__________________
4L I6, naturally aspirated producing 173.5rwkw.
14.410 @ 96.49mph with street radials.
What's that?..... Did I hear you say TQE power?
Soxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2004, 03:51   #8 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 40
Posts: 8,204
Re: EL cam into an EA?

Id even skip the EA/D Intake and go straight for a BBM.

Did you end up selling the Sprint Cocopops?
or are you the new owner?
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2004, 05:29   #9 (permalink)
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 2,580
Re: EL cam into an EA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TIKFD6
Id even skip the EA/D Intake and go straight for a BBM.
I would too, though it does make things more difficult because of the smart lock issue, so he can't easily use a EL ECU.

Rick.
__________________
4L I6, naturally aspirated producing 173.5rwkw.
14.410 @ 96.49mph with street radials.
What's that?..... Did I hear you say TQE power?
Soxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2004, 05:38   #10 (permalink)
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 40
Posts: 8,204
Re: EL cam into an EA?

Yeah, thats true Rick, i was looking through the Jaycar catalouge tha other day, they have all sorts of Switching kits that woud do the job.
I may even look at the option myself, or when i get my Unichip, or similar i can always get that to switch it over.
TIKFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!! Grant Porter Inline 6 Tech 50 06-14-2004 22:37
Cam for EA - Cost, Where, Power Gain? nerrad General Tech 1 11-13-2003 15:47
Dose an EL thermo houseing on an EA?? StarkEA General Tech 8 02-14-2003 18:38
EL 4.0 into EA (a bit long) Walkinshaw General Tech 12 08-02-2002 01:00

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.