engine swap in ea - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2005, 04:08   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Question engine swap in ea

hey im planning on putting an el engine into my ea but am unsure of a couple of things!I will be running the ea manifold as i cant be bothered trying to find an el 5 speed ecu and i want to run the serpentine drive belt and thermo's! will the timing mark on the el motor suit the ea or will it be different because of the different manifold and wiring and are the distributors interchangable from ea to el?Also will the ea flywheel be able to be bolted to the el motor which will prob be an auto motor with out upsetting the crankshaft balance?
any help appreciated!
madeaspack is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2005, 01:19   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
atec77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 917
Wink Re: engine swap in ea

Quote:
Originally Posted by madeaspack
hey im planning on putting an el engine into my ea but am unsure of a couple of things!I will be running the ea manifold as i cant be bothered trying to find an el 5 speed ecu and i want to run the serpentine drive belt and thermo's! will the timing mark on the el motor suit the ea or will it be different because of the different manifold and wiring and are the distributors interchangable from ea to el?Also will the ea flywheel be able to be bolted to the el motor which will prob be an auto motor with out upsetting the crankshaft balance?
any help appreciated!
Ive done an ed into an ea
we used the motor and box , wiring harness manifolds and MPI as well as the fual pump
good luck . cant answer the little fiddly bits as the way we did it looked easier :_)
atec77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 03:58   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BargeEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne
Age: 30
Posts: 131
Re: engine swap in ea

gday
i actually have an EL motor in my EA wagon already. but (unfortunatly, as it seems around here!) i am still running the CFi setup. so therefore am still running my stock ECU. now i didnt do the swap myself, but i am pretty sure the timing was compatible. now i dont know too much else about this tuff unfortunatly. i am pretty sure it has the EL dizzy and coil on it. almost everything on there is EL bar the inlet manifold i think.
as for the flywheel, i actually have an AU II 4 speed auto, so this means that i dont have an EA fly anymore so i dont know.
sorry if i wasnt too much help. the only other thing i could possible offer is for you to have a look under the bonnet and deduce it yourself!
-Evan
__________________
EA 30th Anniversary Wagon
  • 1998 EL 4.0L
  • AUII 4-speed auto
  • EFII Ghia Rims
  • VDO Dayton CD 2703 Mp3 Head Unit
  • VDO Dayton MPC-1300 components
  • Philips DAP-4040 4 channel
  • Kenwood KFC-HQ718 7x10s
  • Alpine MRP-M350 Mono block
  • Alpine SWS-1042D 10inch S-Type sub
  • runs 17.70@79mph
BargeEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 02:33   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Re: engine swap in ea

Quote:
Originally Posted by BargeEA
gday
i actually have an EL motor in my EA wagon already. but (unfortunatly, as it seems around here!) i am still running the CFi setup. so therefore am still running my stock ECU. now i didnt do the swap myself, but i am pretty sure the timing was compatible. now i dont know too much else about this tuff unfortunatly. i am pretty sure it has the EL dizzy and coil on it. almost everything on there is EL bar the inlet manifold i think.
as for the flywheel, i actually have an AU II 4 speed auto, so this means that i dont have an EA fly anymore so i dont know.
sorry if i wasnt too much help. the only other thing i could possible offer is for you to have a look under the bonnet and deduce it yourself!
-Evan
hey thanks for your help,so are you running a serpentine belt setup or the 3 belts of the ea engine,this part seems to be trouble!cheers
madeaspack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 03:34   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BargeEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne
Age: 30
Posts: 131
Re: engine swap in ea

no worries mate
well, i am pretty sure its the stock ea belt setup. i mean, i dont have thermos or anything like that, so i dont think it has been changed.
where abouts are you from? cos i really dont mind if u want to take a squiz at the mess in my engine bay! you would probably be able to make more sence out of it than me
__________________
EA 30th Anniversary Wagon
  • 1998 EL 4.0L
  • AUII 4-speed auto
  • EFII Ghia Rims
  • VDO Dayton CD 2703 Mp3 Head Unit
  • VDO Dayton MPC-1300 components
  • Philips DAP-4040 4 channel
  • Kenwood KFC-HQ718 7x10s
  • Alpine MRP-M350 Mono block
  • Alpine SWS-1042D 10inch S-Type sub
  • runs 17.70@79mph
BargeEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2005, 04:27   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: brisbane QLD
Age: 33
Posts: 45
Re: engine swap in ea

The timing mark will be fine everything you are attempting is a simple bolt up and all is completely interchangeable. Not balance problems whatsoever.
__________________
undecided: dev5 or turbo???
brooza83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 19:21   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Re: engine swap in ea

Quote:
Originally Posted by brooza83
The timing mark will be fine everything you are attempting is a simple bolt up and all is completely interchangeable. Not balance problems whatsoever.
cool thanks for help,brooza do you know about the pedal boxes i think you can just change the brake pedal and add a clutch pedal to the auto pedal box but im not sure and would like to be sure before i attempt anything?
cheers chris
madeaspack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 16:00   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
89Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Zealand
Age: 26
Posts: 48
Re: engine swap in ea

No a clutch pedal cant be added unless you change pedal boxes. Although you can use a bolt or piece of rod for the auto pedal box to take the pedal but for the trouble i suggest you change pedal boxes because the auto pedal box doesnt have the reinforcing where the rod or bolt will go and run the risk of cracking the metal or slogging it out (the manual pedal box isnt that bad to take out it just requires a helluva lot of patience)
__________________
Previous Rides:
1989 EA Falcon GL 4.0 LPG 5spd (ex 3spd auto)
1990 EA Fairmont Ghia 3.9 MPI 4spd Auto
1989 EA Falcon S 3.9 MPI 5spd

Current Rides
1989 EA Falcon S 3.9 MPI 5 spd
1990 EA Fairmont Ghia 3.9 MPI No Speed (soon to be manual)

And Still not sick of them yet
Havnt Blown a head gasket yet either
89Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 23:57   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Re: engine swap in ea

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89Falcon
No a clutch pedal cant be added unless you change pedal boxes. Although you can use a bolt or piece of rod for the auto pedal box to take the pedal but for the trouble i suggest you change pedal boxes because the auto pedal box doesnt have the reinforcing where the rod or bolt will go and run the risk of cracking the metal or slogging it out (the manual pedal box isnt that bad to take out it just requires a helluva lot of patience)
ok thanks next question..can it be done without taking the dash out?that is my next major concern
cheers chris
madeaspack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 03:18   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 50
Re: engine swap in ea

i'm interested in fitting an EF/EL engine into my EA fairmont, (except i might just get a mechanic to do it)
how much will this all cost ??
__________________
EA Falcon
truenoteno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
engine swap questions prabbit Inline 6 Tech 6 06-24-2004 06:37
Mazda's RENESIS Engine Wins International Award Stacy94PGT Mazda Forum 0 06-13-2004 09:13
EL engine into EA prabbit Inline 6 Tech 4 06-09-2004 05:42
96 XH XR6 engine to replace EA 3.9mpfi Falcon_Spac General Tech 3 11-12-2003 15:25
EL-EA engine swap PH0EN|X Inline 6 Tech 8 07-23-2003 07:17

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.