high idle due to Big cam - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-06-04, 12:45 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 27
Question high idle due to Big cam

Guys a recently took the head off my car shaved it to the max baught a cam and valve springs to suit i put it all back together started her up and idle was at about 1500rpm. i unpluged the idle speed solenoid and idle returned to 900. has any1 had this problem. im thinking because the cam is so big ive lost manifold vacum presure which is causing the map sensor to give the wrong reading thus thinking there is load on the engine at idle and raising it up to cope. i was thinking of maybe re mapping the computer or a chip. any1 ever had this problem b4 help would be muchly apreciated!
Gli 5 Speed is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-06-04, 01:21 AM
Look! A flying orangutan!
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 32
Posts: 3,104
Re: high idle due to Big cam

What cam?
It could be a simple air leak, try double-checking your manifold and vacuum lines? Manifold is easily checked with a can of degreaser or similar - spray it on the joint, and if idle speed increases, there's a leak there.


Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-06-04, 02:42 AM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Townsville NQ
Age: 33
Posts: 797
Re: high idle due to Big cam

my idel is at 900 due to running a "biggish" cam ... crow S3
EvilChief is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-08-04, 09:10 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Townsville
Age: 42
Posts: 1,212
Re: high idle due to Big cam

How big is so big ??? Need to know the specs first. If it has a huge overlap it may cause the ECU to detect low vaccum and think it is accellerating. I thought it would pump more fuel in and cause it to stall not idle higher ???

clevo400 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-08-04, 11:28 PM
Experienced Ford Member
fordboy1996's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawthorn East
Age: 34
Posts: 829
Re: high idle due to Big cam

I've never heard of that problem and I've run like 5 or 6 different cams in my EF. it will idle at 1500rpm when you put the computer in reset mode for the idle....


"The car is the closest thing man can create to.....something that is alive" (Founder of Jaguar Cars Pty Ltd, Sir William Lyons)
"Can't sleep, Clown'll eat me, can't sleep, clown'll eat me"
"I am the angel of death, the time of purification is at hand"
fordboy1996 is offline  
Sponsored Links

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!! Grant Porter Inline 6 Tech 50 06-14-04 11:37 PM
chasing stroker kit for 351clev tony xa Cleveland Tech 95 06-01-04 07:29 PM
i screwed base idle :( wacka Windsor Tech 12 04-11-04 04:05 AM
Tips for EL XR8 camshaft change (long) EL1XR8 Windsor Tech 19 03-25-04 02:28 AM
Lumpy cam and Vac Advance, From the manifold? Nismo_Capri General Tech 4 03-17-04 02:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome