Ignition Timing >>> A bit confused! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
┬╗ Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2002, 14:46   #1 (permalink)
LET EM' RIPPP

Ignition Timing >>> A bit confused!

Hey guys, well I am currently trying to set the timing on the EA. I have never done this before, and basically, I don't think it has bee done since it came out of the factory.

I earthed the input plug so that the car is in self test mode.
And the car is at operating temp.

When I initially checked the timing, it was about 1 inch to the left of the IGN mark, this was when idle was at about 800rpm I am assuming the 10 deg BTDC is on the IGN mark, and that where I tried setting the mark to.

Once the idle dropped down to the 500rpm mark, it got a little rougher, and the timing mark moved closer to the IGN mark, but was still about 1cm to the left.

I adjusted it so that it is still a little to the left of the IGN mark (Retarded) and when the idle dropped, it alternated between being on the IGN mark, and being advance past it.

Should I set the idle speed to something different because it's probably stuffing up the settings or something?

If I set it on the IGN mark at 800rpm will this be ok?

Just a little confused about this one.
Advertisement

Old 03-01-2002, 16:57   #2 (permalink)
Mallyboo

Setting "bass" timing

BC,