Ford Forums banner

Ignition Timing >>> A bit confused!

2K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  lukeyn039 
#1 ·
Hey guys, well I am currently trying to set the timing on the EA. I have never done this before, and basically, I don't think it has bee done since it came out of the factory.

I earthed the input plug so that the car is in self test mode.
And the car is at operating temp.

When I initially checked the timing, it was about 1 inch to the left of the IGN mark, this was when idle was at about 800rpm I am assuming the 10 deg BTDC is on the IGN mark, and that where I tried setting the mark to.

Once the idle dropped down to the 500rpm mark, it got a little rougher, and the timing mark moved closer to the IGN mark, but was still about 1cm to the left.

I adjusted it so that it is still a little to the left of the IGN mark (Retarded) and when the idle dropped, it alternated between being on the IGN mark, and being advance past it.

Should I set the idle speed to something different because it's probably stuffing up the settings or something?

If I set it on the IGN mark at 800rpm will this be ok?

Just a little confused about this one.

G
#2 ·
Setting "bass" timing

BC,

Yep - you set it to the IGN mark and go from there. Mine was easy for the first bit, timing light was spot on and it hit the same spot everytime. Then after awhile it started 'bouncing' around and doing funny things. Pretty much I gave up getting it spot-on because I had to get the gas system checked in a few days and the guys have to check the base timing anyway before setting the gas mix if they are doing their job properly.

Anyway - as for the mark moving around on you....