New Dash Cluster - Now not running Gas? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2004, 23:46   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Geelong
Posts: 6
New Dash Cluster - Now not running Gas?

Howdy ,

I recently installed an SPAC dash cluster to an EA GL which use to have just fuel /temp/speedo. After fitting it, all the guages worked apart from the tacho which i knew had to be connected to vacant pin on connector 8. SO i ran a cable from the coil through through the firewall to the connector. Presto, the tacho works.... well it ran for 3 days....

Now... nothing. Will not run on petrol nor gas. If i listen while turning the key to the on position i usually could hear the fuel pump for a few seconds. Now i cant. The engine turns but doesnt fire. There is spark though.

My old man rang a mechanice freind who suggests it could be the replacemt dash cluster, the fuel gauge may have to much resistance but i dont think that is the case. He then wired a 12 volt feed to the postive side of the gas solanoid and it started on gas !

WOuld anyone have any suggestions coz id hate to go back the tacky old GL dash :(

Cheers!
DooKs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2004, 01:41   #2 (permalink)
Whats traction?
 
xdc351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Smokin melb's eastern suburbs
Age: 33
Posts: 2,197
Re: New Dash Cluster - Now not running Gas?

its possible there were some modifications done to the dash when the gas was installed, especially if the fuel guage changed depending on which fuel you were running.

I'd suggest to call the gas installation place that did the install (should be listed on the compliance plate) and ask them.
__________________
Just like a Tsunami.
xdc351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spac Cluster > Digital Dash Falcon_Spac Interior | Electrical | ECU 10 07-24-2003 15:04
dash cluster expensive? Bertis_EB2 Interior | Electrical | ECU 9 06-10-2003 03:13
Police Dash Cluster for EF iLoveMyEF Interior | Electrical | ECU 8 11-13-2002 03:33
Feels like I'm running out of gas 351-PI-VIC Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 1 02-21-2001 06:44
Feels like I'm running out of gas 351-PI-VIC Ford Crown Victoria | Mercury Marauder | Grand Marquis | P71 0 02-20-2001 20:19

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:06.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.