Oil pressure problems! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Eltham, Vic
Age: 31
Posts: 67
Oil pressure problems!

G'day

I serviced my ef fairmont yesterday, all went very well (apart from snapping one of the spark plug leads), but she's running like a dream now. The is one thing i've noticed, the oil pressure is bloody high, i'm pretty sure i didn't over fill it and after checking it this morning the level is just below full on the dip stick. when i say it running high, i mean in the red line, at one stage it was at the very top of the meter, if the meter went to 10 not 7 i'm think it wold have been at the end of 10

anyone have any suggestions as to why its running running at such huge pressure?
I would prefer not to drive it much until i find the cause.

Bounce Ferret! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 08:44 PM
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 46
Posts: 2,580
Re: Oil pressure problems!

It's very likely fine, what oil did you use, what viscosity?

Rick.

4L I6, naturally aspirated producing 173.5rwkw.
14.410 @ 96.49mph with street radials.
What's that?..... Did I hear you say TQE power?
Soxx is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 08:46 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Eltham, Vic
Age: 31
Posts: 67
Re: Oil pressure problems!

penzzoil 15w/40

thats fords recommendation right?
Bounce Ferret! is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 09:07 PM
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 46
Posts: 2,580
Re: Oil pressure problems!

It should be fine.

Rick.

4L I6, naturally aspirated producing 173.5rwkw.
14.410 @ 96.49mph with street radials.
What's that?..... Did I hear you say TQE power?
Soxx is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Eltham, Vic
Age: 31
Posts: 67
Re: Oil pressure problems!

alright cool, well it's running very smoothly, and it's not blowing smoke, so i guess i'll just see how it goes,

cheers for the help!
Bounce Ferret! is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 09:40 PM
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Melbourne VIC Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 103
Re: Oil pressure problems!

My brother has had the same problem with his EF since he serviced it the oil gague will go to the Red and stay there its weird.

1988 EA Fairmont Ghia 4.0l (1996 EF) with EA Injection Single drivebelt conversion , Borg Warner T5 5 speed.
"Factory Specifications are optional"
Moran is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 09:43 PM
Can't wait for Winton...
 
outback_ute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Victoria
Posts: 2,759
Re: Oil pressure problems!

Possibly a problem with the sender or gauge. Unlikely to be actual high oil pressure unless there is a problem with the relief valve.
outback_ute is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 10:05 PM
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Melbourne VIC Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 103
Re: Oil pressure problems!

My brother thinks a bit of grit may have gotten in gauge sensor.

1988 EA Fairmont Ghia 4.0l (1996 EF) with EA Injection Single drivebelt conversion , Borg Warner T5 5 speed.
"Factory Specifications are optional"
Moran is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 10:16 PM
BOFH
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Giving the finger to speedcams
Age: 45
Posts: 7,777
Re: Oil pressure problems!

It's almost certainly a sender or earthing problem. Very common on all E and A series cars.


Casper is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-26-04, 11:25 PM
Experimental Racer#6
 
TIKFD6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Wodonga Vic
Age: 42
Posts: 8,204
Re: Oil pressure problems!

May acctually be a problem with the gauge, a loose terminalor similar.
I just had a very simiral problem with my temp guage.
TIKFD6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome