Prob with cam/head upgrade - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-02-04, 12:42 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
SVO XR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 586
Prob with cam/head upgrade

Hi ,

I have some issues with me car now that i have added a larger cam and done some head work.

It is running richer then Bill Gates!

Also when the guys put me head back on they fuked around with the cam timming and it's way off.

I have a chiptourque chip and was wondering if i should scrap it and buy a different com or get a fuel only com?

Any ideas?


Hold your breath, count to 10, fall apart, start again
SVO XR6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-02-04, 07:13 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
SVO XR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 586
Re: Prob with cam/head upgrade

I was thinking maby tubotarana may be able to "plug n play"?
Does it plug into the std com and change the fuel map n stuff?
I was reading that there are plug n play things for the el com but there are only a few who have one?

Hold your breath, count to 10, fall apart, start again
SVO XR6 is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-04, 12:16 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 529
Re: Prob with cam/head upgrade

I would change the whole lot.

The VE's of the engine changes altogether as well as it moving around when you start fiddling internally with the motor.

When we changed the cam in my mates car the timing curve change a lot. It went from 38 deg total to 28deg But still liked the same initial advance (16 deg).
not ford is offline  
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-04, 12:44 AM
Village Idiot
 
EFJase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 31
Posts: 2,526
Re: Prob with cam/head upgrade

I think turbotoranas gear is only for EB/Ds?
Ask the dyno guy maybe, if u still get it done

Sounds pretty fat now aswell

TPC Mod/henchman
previous rides;
1st car EA Fairmont Ghia, extractors, exhaust
2nd EF GLi, 'custom' interior, extractors, exhuast
3rd EA Fairmont 5spd, low'd, extractors, exhuast, head
work, 3.45LSD, EL dash, interior+ El ECU
4th EB2 Fairmont, EL dash and interior, BBM, LSD etc etc
5th EB Fairmont Ghia 5L. All leather, lowered, exhaust etc
EFJase is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-04, 01:24 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
SVO XR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 586
Re: Prob with cam/head upgrade

only coz it pumps shit loads of fuel into the muffler.:lol:
I rang chiptourque today, somone who knows somthing finally.
Everyone else i rang knew fa!
He said the best thing they can do is for me to tell them all the details of the head and other mods, send the chip to them (Brisy) and they can fuk around with it and make it all good.

The good thing about this that it is $100.
Bad thing that it kinda sounds like they are guesstamating what they change???

Another optio is to get a "Unichip" installed.
Good thing= can be tuned in real time.
Bad thing=$1200, and is also a piggyback system which I have been told is crap coz the ford com learns over the chip??

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hold your breath, count to 10, fall apart, start again
SVO XR6 is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-04, 01:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 529
Re: Prob with cam/head upgrade

Even if you can't go 'plug n play' to wire in a new aftermarket ecu shouldn't take more than 1/2 a day if you can read a wiring schematic and use a soldering iron.

The Wolf 3D ver 4 costs $1100 and there's a pro tuner and installer there in perth. You should be able to do it for $1600 or less if you install it yourself including the tune.

Last edited by not ford; 02-03-04 at 01:42 AM.
not ford is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-04, 07:54 AM
tgoodlich@hotmail*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 381
Re: Prob with cam/head upgrade

SVO XR6, if you have the EL which has the older style computer in it (ecc 4,no coil pack), the plug and play harness for the EA to ED will fit. It only takes 5 min to check. The EMS 8860 is a very good engine management system to use.
turbotrana is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-04, 07:02 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
SVO XR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 32
Posts: 586
Re: Prob with cam/head upgrade

I aint got a coil pack.
How much is the 8860?
I dont need a hell fancy com due to having no plans to go forced induction.
Maby nos?

Hold your breath, count to 10, fall apart, start again
SVO XR6 is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-04, 07:15 PM
Registered User
 
6pAc|30nG|00n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 847
Re: Prob with cam/head upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotrana
SVO XR6, if you have the EL which has the older style computer in it (ecc 4,no coil pack), the plug and play harness for the EA to ED will fit. It only takes 5 min to check. The EMS 8860 is a very good engine management system to use.

umm the EL has EEC V but uses the old ED 60 pin plug and they can just plug straight across between EBII-ED and EL. The EL ECU harness will be wired to some extra goodies though, can the 8860 handle things like knock sensor and bbm manifold switching or does it hook up spliced with the old ECU to get the best of both bits?

94 ED Fairmont Auto.
Pacemaker Extractors, 2.5" Mandrel Exhaust, Hi-Flow Cat, Stright Through Muff, Broadband Intake Manifold, EEC V, Wood Grain Trim.
Thermo Conversion, AU XR8 Intake Snorkel, 10mm Spiral Core Leads, Shift Kit, Mock Dev5a Cam, King Low Springs.
17" ROH Shadow Chrome RT's, K&N Air Filter, LSD Conversion w/ 3.7 Gears.
Proudest Addition: Socks the Brindle Staffy Girl.
Proud TQE Operator
6pAc|30nG|00n is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-04, 08:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 529
Re: Prob with cam/head upgrade

If you aren't going forced induction then a Wolf 3D ver3 or a EMS 4424 stinger or a Microtech would be enough. They all run around the $1000 mark.
not ford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Upgrade - Fairlane One Ford Drone Superchargers | Turbos | N2O 11 10-19-03 11:15 PM
Essential Brake Upgrade for AU1s JC-XR8 Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 20 05-31-03 08:40 PM
to upgrade or not to upgrade !Gn|T|0n Audio And Security 4 04-10-03 07:11 AM
Cooling system upgrade Jase_ELXR8 General Tech 20 01-09-03 01:17 PM
98 Brake Upgrade Completed! Nomad Suspension | Wheels&Tires | Brakes 2 07-05-01 09:04 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome