Stage 5 crow cam - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2004, 17:36   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: perth
Age: 34
Posts: 295
Stage 5 crow cam

Hi all.

A stage 5 crow cam custom grind has been made available to me for $150
and i need to know what i have to do to the engine to run it and i'd like to know what a large cam will do to the engine.

I have an EA 3.9 , 4.0 head , deep dish ACL pistons with the full ACL rebuild kit , manual and soon to be EF manifold , soon to be 3.7 diff with 28 spline axles. It has an EF cam and rocker setup at the mo and kicks in at 3500rpm.

Any help appreciated.
EAtDUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-12-2004, 18:19   #2 (permalink)
Village Idiot
 
EFJase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 30
Posts: 2,526
Re: Stage 5 crow cam

I didnt know they made one that big

Anyway, John has a stg 3, and for that u need a chip or new computer.
It would be pretty rough without one, so im guessing for a bigger cam, your definatley going to be up for soem cash on the ECU side of things. Not sure how much a good chip is, and that ems comp is $1300..
__________________
TPC Mod/henchman
previous rides;
1st car EA Fairmont Ghia, extractors, exhaust
2nd EF GLi, 'custom' interior, extractors, exhuast
3rd EA Fairmont 5spd, low'd, extractors, exhuast, head
work, 3.45LSD, EL dash, interior+ El ECU
4th EB2 Fairmont, EL dash and interior, BBM, LSD etc etc
5th EB Fairmont Ghia 5L. All leather, lowered, exhaust etc
EFJase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 19:06   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: perth
Age: 34
Posts: 295
Re: Stage 5 crow cam

What would happen if i ran it anyway.
There is also a stage 2 WAGGOT cam for the same price.
EAtDUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 19:07   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: perth
Age: 34
Posts: 295
Re: Stage 5 crow cam

Oh yeah........they're to suit EF-EL
EAtDUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 19:15   #5 (permalink)
Experienced Ford Member
 
fordboy1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hawthorn East
Age: 33
Posts: 829
Re: Stage 5 crow cam

can we have specs please??

Dave.
__________________
SMOKE 'EM IF YOU GOT 'EM!!!!
-------------------------------
"The car is the closest thing man can create to.....something that is alive" (Founder of Jaguar Cars Pty Ltd, Sir William Lyons)
-------------------------------
"Can't sleep, Clown'll eat me, can't sleep, clown'll eat me"
"I am the angel of death, the time of purification is at hand"
-------------------------------
fordboy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 19:52   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
SVO XR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 30
Posts: 586
Re: Stage 5 crow cam

yeah, you will be deffinatly up for a new ecu, i got the stg 3, very mild i reccon, and it couldnt run off the std ecu after a small amount of head work.
__________________
Hold your breath, count to 10, fall apart, start again
SVO XR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 21:26   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: perth
Age: 34
Posts: 295
Re: Stage 5 crow cam

Can't get any specs till 6pm so i'll have to post back then.
What type of prices would i be looking at to get another ECU fitted.
I believe one of the w.a members is doing plug and play for some EMS 8668 (don't quote me on the model number). Would this work and if so what are the computers worth.

Also what is the difference between stages 1-5. I'm told it gets lumpier but really what are you losing/gaining out of it. Is it just changing your power curve.
EAtDUST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 23:57   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
SVO XR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 30
Posts: 586
Re: Stage 5 crow cam

i got the ems 8860, really good ecu.

The stg 5 has alot more duration and less overlap then the stg 1.
It's shitloads lumpier, drives and idles like a pig.
You wont get the most from it unless you get a vernier gear to dial it in, and then you gotta make your motor rev to where the cam makes power, prob about 3700-6000rpm.

Then your injectors will be maxed, you got 24 pound ones???
U got a good exhaust/extractors/intake???
Headwork??
Prob need head work to make the most of it.
__________________
Hold your breath, count to 10, fall apart, start again
SVO XR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 01:05   #9 (permalink)
Village Idiot
 
EFJase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 30
Posts: 2,526
Re: Stage 5 crow cam

U 2 should do a swap :D
And it turbotorana whos does em, and done svo's. Looking at about 1300 supply only... i think. + a laptop if u wanna be able to tune it on the go
__________________
TPC Mod/henchman
previous rides;
1st car EA Fairmont Ghia, extractors, exhaust
2nd EF GLi, 'custom' interior, extractors, exhuast
3rd EA Fairmont 5spd, low'd, extractors, exhuast, head
work, 3.45LSD, EL dash, interior+ El ECU
4th EB2 Fairmont, EL dash and interior, BBM, LSD etc etc
5th EB Fairmont Ghia 5L. All leather, lowered, exhaust etc
EFJase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2004, 01:39   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Age: 32
Posts: 180
Re: Stage 5 crow cam

What stage cam do you have in at the moment that kicks in at 3500rpm, must be fairly big already.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAtDUST
Hi all.

A stage 5 crow cam custom grind has been made available to me for $150
and i need to know what i have to do to the engine to run it and i'd like to know what a large cam will do to the engine.

I have an EA 3.9 , 4.0 head , deep dish ACL pistons with the full ACL rebuild kit , manual and soon to be EF manifold , soon to be 3.7 diff with 28 spline axles. It has an EF cam and rocker setup at the mo and kicks in at 3500rpm.

Any help appreciated.
tagsXF is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install a cam into a ED 5 litre - easy? xr8_sprint Windsor Tech 11 05-11-2003 16:04
Porting head and installing a Stage 2 Cam ozzysean Inline 6 Tech 2 02-19-2003 03:14
crow cam dinga Inline 6 Tech 1 02-02-2003 21:25

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.