Ford Forums banner

Technician's advice sought: Terrible smoke even after stem seal replacement!

15K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  FairlaneGreg 
#1 ·
Hi guys, newbie here.....

I have a '95 4.0 litre NF Fairlane with 310,000 km on the clock. Its duel-fuel and regularly serviced.

6 months ago I put a reconditioned head on it and a month or so ago it began blowing smoke soon after start-up, as I drove away from home each morning.
So I took it back to the head reconditioner and he (free of charge) replaced all of the valve stem seals.

It still blew smoke, only after it has sat for 8-10 hours or more, in fact a month later it seems worse than ever now, actually quite embarrassing in fact!

I did a compression check on it a few days ago and it returned pretty good figures (considering the motor's age) of 180-195psi across all six cylinders. This represents a variation of less than 8%, quite acceptable I think.
So it seems that the compression rings, at least, are ok. Is there a check for oil rings?

As a matter of interest, No.4 spark plug was darker than the others, with oil residue around the base of the thread, so it seems its the problem.

NB: The car doesn't blow any visible smoke after it has been running for about 30-40 seconds, under acceleration or deceleration. It only blows smoke when its cold.

What is wrong with my car? I am tearing my hair out (what's left of it!) over this!

HELP!!!

Cheers,
Greg

See less See more
#3 ·
(BTW Thanks for the response Lance)

What condition were the stem seals in that got replaced.
I think they said they couldn't see any real damage. They had intended to check each one and replace any damaged ones but (they reckon) they replaced them all just in case.

Is the rocker ratio and camshaft lift still original spec?
Completely stock motor mate. Haven't changed a thing.

Cheers,
Greg

#4 ·