Technician's advice sought: Terrible smoke even after stem seal replacement! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2010, 04:35   #1 (permalink)

Technician's advice sought: Terrible smoke even after stem seal replacement!

Hi guys, newbie here.....

I have a '95 4.0 litre NF Fairlane with 310,000 km on the clock. Its duel-fuel and regularly serviced.

6 months ago I put a reconditioned head on it and a month or so ago it began blowing smoke soon after start-up, as I drove away from home each morning.
So I took it back to the head reconditioner and he (free of charge) replaced all of the valve stem seals.

It still blew smoke, only after it has sat for 8-10 hours or more, in fact a month later it seems worse than ever now, actually quite embarrassing in fact!

I did a compression check on it a few days ago and it returned pretty good figures (considering the motor's age) of 180-195psi across all six cylinders. This represents a variation of less than 8%, quite acceptable I think.
So it seems that the compression rings, at least, are ok. Is there a check for oil rings?

As a matter of interest, No.4 spark plug was darker than the others, with oil residue around the base of the thread, so it seems its the problem.

NB: The car doesn't blow any visible smoke after it has been running for about 30-40 seconds, under acceleration or deceleration. It only blows smoke when its cold.

What is wrong with my car? I am tearing my hair out (what's left of it!) over this!

HELP!!!

Cheers,