Timing belt - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2005, 22:18   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Adelaide, Sturt
Posts: 227
Timing belt

Anyone know for sure when the timing belt on the Tickford I6 AU series motor is meant to be replaced? Having hard time finding it in the service book, & the bloke at Adrien Brien Ford service area didn't know either... said he had to look it up.
jonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2005, 22:28   #2 (permalink)
In-line 6, DOHC, 24V
 
johnydep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: On the coast
Posts: 562
Re: Timing belt

The Ford I6 engine does not have a timing belt. All Aussie Ford straight sixes use a chain & sprocket set up.
johnydep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2005, 22:40   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Adelaide, Sturt
Posts: 227
Re: Timing belt

Ah stuff!!!

When I rang the fella at the service desk this arvo, I said 'chain' and he said "No, it's a belt".

Damn! I knew I was right.

Well the Fairlane has done 100 thou', so is my guess about it being changed correct?
jonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2005, 22:41   #4 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: Timing belt

If the service guy had to look up wether to replace a timing belt that you dont have, find another service department.

Otherwise the timing chains pretty much never need replacing unless you are specific issues and replacing could solve the problem.
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2005, 02:23   #5 (permalink)
In-line 6, DOHC, 24V
 
johnydep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: On the coast
Posts: 562
Re: Timing belt

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonk
Ah stuff!!!

When I rang the fella at the service desk this arvo, I said 'chain' and he said "No, it's a belt".

Damn! I knew I was right.

Well the Fairlane has done 100 thou', so is my guess about it being changed correct?
The chain only requires changing if it is noisy or slipped a tooth.

Chains don't give much trouble, but they do require a good clean supply of oil to stop wear.
The chain is helped with a series of 'chain' guides and a tensioner, these items are normally replaced with the chain.

Most manufaturers went away from chains because belts were quieter & easier to replace.
But recently metal, oil, engineering and design tecnology has changed to such an extent, that manufacturers are now going back to chains.
They can build engines with chains that are as quiet as engines with timing belts, with the added benefit of never having to change it.

As long as you have kept up with your oil changes and used a good quality oil, the timing chain will last as long as the rest of your motor.
Also remember; when starting a cold engine do not rev it, let the ECU control the throttle. Then drive off sensibly until the engine has reach Normal Operating Temperature.
This way all the mechanical parts of your car will last and last and last....
johnydep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2005, 02:29   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Age: 65
Posts: 120
Re: Timing belt

P'raps the dealer, who seems to have big gaps in his knowledge of his own products, was trying to be helpful. We'll give him the benefit. He may have been referring to the serpentine belt that drives all the accessories. After 100,000 k it's probably not a bad idea to replace it anyway - they do a lot of work. If you can see the belt where in bends backwards over a pulley you may see the grooved sections either cracked or some little bits missing. For me, that's the cue to replace it. While I've never had one let go, it is simply good imsurance to ditch it at a given time. 100,000k is about the time. They're only $20.00 something at Repco. Put the old one in the boot as a spare - it'll always get you home.
fordboy98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2005, 03:09   #7 (permalink)
Resident fool
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Montrose, VIC
Posts: 35
Re: Timing belt

When to replace chain:
*when it rattles
*when rebuilding engine
*when it stretches to buggery and the timing goes out (can anyone say commodore?)
*when it jumps a tooth/breaks;-)
Mrshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2005, 03:12   #8 (permalink)
Australian Falcon Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 865
Re: Timing belt

When I was chasing up info on ECU's, a parts department guy at a major Ford dealership in Perth told me there was never an XR6 Wagon made - pretty much called me an idiot. Odd thing tho - the house two doors up from us has a Wagon with XR6 and Tickford badges and the round headlights (it looks like EB or ED wagon).

Oh, and I remember reading at least one Motor magazine article where the comment "as we followed in the XR6 Wagon chase car...." was made.
__________________
IT'LL GO OR IT'LL BLOW!!!
EDFUTURA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2005, 19:04   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Age: 29
Posts: 62
Re: Timing belt

there was an ef xr6 wagon
elford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2005, 03:28   #10 (permalink)
Birth, Drift, Death...
 
Rollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Drifting Brisbane...
Age: 31
Posts: 3,039
Re: Timing belt

and ed too...and i want one!
__________________
Slick, Quick and Fulliii SIK!!!
Proud TQE Operator

197.4hp at the wheels, 14.505@152.46km/h
Tuning in progress...
*CLICK TO SEE MY XR6*
I can get new Genuine Holden/Ford/Audi/Land Rover/Honda parts cheap, PM me!
Rollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tempo retracting seat belt mechanism problems zooeyhall Ford Tempo Forum | Mercury Topaz Forum 11 02-01-2006 22:09
2000 Taurus: timing chain or timing belt? Yfranie Ford Taurus | Mercury Sable | Ford Taurus SHO | 1986-2007 1 02-02-2005 09:34
Timing belt or chain belt? mpower Ford Ranger Forum 1 08-26-2004 09:46
Timing Belt / 214 trouble code futch Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri 0 04-05-2004 10:16
newbie - timing belt c2o3x General Tech 3 09-23-2003 19:16

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.