Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!! - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2003, 14:51   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cecil Plains
Posts: 75
Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

Ive got an EA 3.9 mpfi, with 2.5" exhaust, extractors, hi-flow cat, and a cold air intake K&N Pod filter. The next thing that I did to her was put a Crow cam stage 3 and vernier cam gear in - it seemed like the next performance mod to do. The vernier cam gear at the moment is set on stock setting.

It is as doughy as buggery down low but still got the same power up high. I used to be able to do consistent 8secs to 100 km, now it is flat doing 10secs.

Should I be advancing or retarding the cam gear???

Whats going on? the lift on the new cam was lots more than the old and the degrees were lots wilder!!!!
Grant Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2003, 15:05   #2 (permalink)
boosted sleeper
 
blueoval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Crusty Downs
Age: 37
Posts: 4,575
Re: Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

I reckon you need an aftermarket chip to really sort out the power issues of the cam. Also is the fuel pump up to the task of the bigger cam?

Might be time to go and put the car on the dyno and see where the problems lye.
__________________
2000 AU2 75th Anniversary Futura
SUPERCHARGED & INTERCOOLED
205rwkw on Bruce Heinrich Dyno
blueoval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 15:53   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 45
Re: Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

did you disconnect the battery?
I_wanna_XA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 15:56   #4 (permalink)
boosted sleeper
 
blueoval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Crusty Downs
Age: 37
Posts: 4,575
Re: Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

good question - the cpu will need to learn the characteristics of the new cam fully to distinguish its fuel calculations. The cpu will learn over time but not straight away. I still recommend a piggy back chip though to get accurate settings.
__________________
2000 AU2 75th Anniversary Futura
SUPERCHARGED & INTERCOOLED
205rwkw on Bruce Heinrich Dyno
blueoval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 16:00   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cecil Plains
Posts: 75
Re: Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

Yeah, I did do it the first time when I put the cam in. Should I be reseting the computer each time I change a setting on the vernier cam gear????
Grant Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 16:09   #6 (permalink)
On the 7th God Made Ford
 
Jah_Nix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Northcote - Melb - Vic
Age: 33
Posts: 98
Re: Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

One can ask Did you put the shim kit and valve springs in too?
The stage 3 I believe uses a chiptorque chip

Does she stall when breaking/spinning steering wheel at idle/When AC goes on?
__________________
99 AU Falcon JMM DEV 5 Kitty + Chippy :) Passin V8'z I Is!!!!
Turbo'z Suck I like Bein Blown

I always said I hit 180rwkw N/A I'd supercharge

And now I'm there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jah_Nix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 16:14   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cecil Plains
Posts: 75
Re: Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

Well as far as I know, it is normally only with reground camshafts that shims are required, and I was talking to CF Performance about the valve springs and they said there is no need to replace them.

Yeah, sometimes it will stall with load from steering and AC, but all in all it seems to idle a lot better than I expected!!
Grant Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 16:15   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cecil Plains
Posts: 75
Re: Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

I think the only reason they put chips in them is mostly to improve Idle quality
Grant Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 19:08   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
SVO XR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Age: 30
Posts: 586
Re: Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

did you dial in the cam proplery? and disconect the battery! It will take a while to re learn but its well worth it.
__________________
Hold your breath, count to 10, fall apart, start again
SVO XR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 19:49   #10 (permalink)
Whats traction?
 
xdc351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Smokin melb's eastern suburbs
Age: 33
Posts: 2,197
Re: Trouble!!! Help. Put stage 3 crow cam in my EA and lost power!!!!

Piggy back chips are used so the fuel and ignition maps can be changed by connecting the chip into a notebook.

That way they put the car on a dyno and make changes directly while they're running the car on the dyno, measuring if the car is running rich/lean, pinging, etc and adjusting the settings right there and then.

You can wait for your ECU to relearn itself, however its possible the maps required for your cam to run properly are outside what the stock computer can learn (but this I doubt). Its much quicker and more precise to install a piggyback, this way if any other changes are made its 30mins on a dyno and your tuned perfectly again.
__________________
Just like a Tsunami.
xdc351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Lost. Big Problem. Need Help. Ktulu Ford Escort | Ford Laser | Ford TX3 | Ford Sierra | Mercury Capri 2 08-02-2003 21:51
Power Lost. Big Problem. Need Help. Ktulu Interior | Electrical | ECU 6 07-26-2003 18:29
Rally of France: Panizzi wins! C.McRae crashes out on penultimate stage!! rallyman Ford Racing Across the Globe 1 03-10-2002 21:29
[WRC] Rallye San Remo: Sainz 4th, Delecour 6th, McRae 8th! rallyman Ford Racing Across the Globe 0 10-07-2001 15:23

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:14.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.