Turbo, do i need an engineer certificate??? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2003, 05:17   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sunbury
Age: 35
Posts: 289
Turbo, do i need an engineer certificate???

I got pulled over today and the cop'a reckoned i needed an engineer's certificate for my turbo installation, Is this true? I was under the belief that because i still had the original motor in the car it didn't matter.
EA Turbo Clone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2003, 05:40   #2 (permalink)
Birth, Drift, Death...
 
Rollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Drifting Brisbane...
Age: 31
Posts: 3,039
Re: Turbo, do i need an engineer certificate???

possibly something to do with emissions? dunno mate...

do you have some pics you can share? gotta love the blown I6!!!
__________________
Slick, Quick and Fulliii SIK!!!
Proud TQE Operator

197.4hp at the wheels, 14.505@152.46km/h
Tuning in progress...
*CLICK TO SEE MY XR6*
I can get new Genuine Holden/Ford/Audi/Land Rover/Honda parts cheap, PM me!
Rollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 06:06   #3 (permalink)
Mechanical Dumbass
 
FUNKY_FALCON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ACT
Age: 28
Posts: 228
Re: Turbo, do i need an engineer certificate???

yeah unfortunately you need an engineers certificate to turbo a car, even if your car came in turbo as an option (eg. XR6 & XR6T) but yours isn't a turbo, you would need an engineers certificate to legally turbo it. out of interest what did the cop end up doing about you not having the certificate??
__________________
http://howefamily.ath.cx/chris/
FUNKY_FALCON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 06:07   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sunbury
Age: 35
Posts: 289
Pic's

Here's some pic's for you, its a work in progress, am running straight gas, and are yet to add second converter and intercooler, which i hope to not have to put on hold to get a engineer certificate. I am running 15PSI and it puts out 150 rear wheel KW's at 3800RPM and then it run's out of gas.
EA Turbo Clone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 06:08   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sunbury
Age: 35
Posts: 289
He gave me a canary. put the car off the road for being unroadworthy
EA Turbo Clone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 19:35   #6 (permalink)
LET EM' RIPPP
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,819
Re: Turbo, do i need an engineer certificate???

With LPG its much easier to get the emissions stuff sorted. Another bonus is that you don’t need to run CAT's with LPG…. But I’m unsure of how to go about getting it all done.

Nice setup by the way!

What size turbo?

Simon
__________________
CAUTION: Slippery When BOOSTING!
Bass Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 03:23   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sunbury
Age: 35
Posts: 289
Turbo size

Its an IHI RHB6, under the belief that it is an equivalent to a T4, but am unsure but it easily pumps out 15PSI through the entire rev range. and yet it's very small in physical size.
EA Turbo Clone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 03:51   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
EFFalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mornington Peninsula
Age: 30
Posts: 7,517
Re: Turbo, do i need an engineer certificate???

15psi and only 150rwkw, i would have expected a little higher.
nice setup though :D
__________________
1995 EF II Falcon GLi: Heritage Green, 4spd Auto, AUII 17" Rims, Custom BA Front Bar, Lowered, Gas Research LPG, Clear Indicators, JVC MP3 Headunit, Phoenix Gold 6.5" Splits, Coustic 481QE Amp, Clarion 12" sub, Leather Seats, Power Window Conversion, 3.45 LSD, Pacemaker Comp Extractors, 2.5" Exhaust, Mandrel Bent Intake, High Flow Filter, Wade 1004 110 cam.

In Progress: BA XR Side Skirts, BA XR Rear bar, BA Shifter Handle.


Want your EF on effalcon.com? Drop me a PM!
E-Series Club Stickers Here!

E-Series Moderator/Membership Officer/Webmaster/Cruise Official
EFFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 04:51   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sunbury
Age: 35
Posts: 289
limit of a converter

150kw's at the back wheels is all you will get on gas with one gas converter in an auto, according to gas research the highest they have gotten at the rear wheels with one converter on a manual is 175kw, that's why it doesn't make anymore power after 3800RPM. with two converters it would be much higher, and the touque figure on the dyno was 6500 neutons.
EA Turbo Clone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 08:11   #10 (permalink)
pR()rN_*
 
carazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,966
Re: Turbo, do i need an engineer certificate???

good stuff dude.
As far as an engineering cert no I don't think you should need one.
They are mainly for structual or safety to cars like chopping the roof, making a 2 door or mods to brakes.
The only thing that could make it a valid defect would be an emmissions test but if the car can't physicly run on petrol then they'd have to take the gas messurments which would be carbon dioxide and water as LPG has near zero emissions (hence it's use in factories for forklifts)
Call the testing centre and ask them dude. Cause it's differant from state to state.
__________________
Breathe! It's only the internet....
carazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Inline 6 Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo 6 or 351 Clevo? Cant decide xespack Cleveland Tech 30 02-10-2005 01:55
Full list of cars for Gran Turismo 4 FPRXR-6 The Pub 106 12-17-2003 22:46
XR6 Turbo Scores 10th Place On Targa Tasmania Debut RPO83 Ford Racing Across the Globe 11 06-25-2003 06:12
Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo Charges into Top 10 in Targa Tasmania RPO83 Ford Racing Across the Globe 19 05-20-2003 04:22

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.