302 Cleveland idle speed - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2008, 15:13   #1 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 66
302 Cleveland idle speed

Just a quick question of what is an appropriate idle speed for a mildly worked but not very lumpy 302 Cleveland? I had it set too low and it had been running rough and drove very jerky and now I've adjusted the speed and mixture (although the mixture seemed pretty right as it was) and it drives smoother than I can remember.

It's now set to about 800rpm, I'm just wondering if this is too high for a V8.

Btw, on an XD/XE tacho gauge, the first notch above 0 is 500rpm right? Seeing as there's not 10 notches between 0 and 10 like there is for 10 to 20, etc?

Thanks
XE302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-26-2008, 03:09   #2 (permalink)
gooddiff
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 14
Re: 302 Cleveland idle speed

xe 302 is it petrol or lpg is it man or auto if it is lpg auto 900 rpm if it is man700 if it is petrol 800 auto man 700 rpm there are a lot of things to consider as soon as you put a cam in you change all dinamics if it is lpg your dizzy must be graphed to 14 degress advanc i have a 351 c 4v on not to many probs it is worked a bit well mild high 14 down quater
gooddiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 15:46   #3 (permalink)
Ford Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 66
Re: 302 Cleveland idle speed

Thanks for that, it's a petrol manual so it looks like 700rpm it is. At the moment it idles between 700-800 and it drives really nicely. The rest of it should be set up fine, it was all done properly when it was all initially set up so it's just my tinkering I need to make sure I don't mess up!
XE302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:23.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.