4 Bolt Block? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-13-03, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
Munch Munch Rice 4 Lunch
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 594
4 Bolt Block?

what to they mean by the 4 bolt block, yeah i know that there extra bolts that hold the crank in, but were they an engine block made by ford or are they an aftermarket modification? its not something that i'm considering on doing i'm just interested in the history behind the ford motors.

RevHeadRon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-13-03, 09:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 150
Re: 4 Bolt Block?

Ron, the 4 bolt blocks were made by ford. They were used in the 1971 Boss 351 mustang and they also used them through to '73 in the Cobra Jet Mustang's and Mercury Cougars. The idea of the extra outer bolts was to stop the crank walking at high revs for long periods (NASCAR) They are not needed for dragracing unless it is supercharged or a massive amount of nitrous which is unlikley anyway.
XC351 is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-13-03, 11:02 PM Thread Starter
Munch Munch Rice 4 Lunch
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 594
Re: 4 Bolt Block?

so for street use its pretty much pointless, unless like u said your going to supercharge something?
RevHeadRon is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-14-03, 12:21 AM
Whats traction?
 
xdc351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Smokin melb's eastern suburbs
Age: 35
Posts: 2,197
Re: 4 Bolt Block?

True they were designed for constant high RPM applications... But hey, if you can find one, its never going to hurt having the extra bolts there!

They were made by ford, unfortunatly not many. Cleveland 4 bolt blocks are rare as rocking horse sht and way beyone the budget of most street machiners.

Just like a Tsunami.
xdc351 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-14-03, 05:50 PM
Slurry Boostin
 
TTNOS8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Lake Entrant, near Bendale
Age: 34
Posts: 1,211
Re: 4 Bolt Block?

Yeah, rare as. They are known as 'Nascar' blocks, or 'Race' Blocks, and some other terms.

There were more than that scattered through some productions up until XE's and some late 70's, early 80's F-Series. Not many, but they were around.

Have seen std bore 4-bolt blocks, with caps only, for $2000 +

Anyone know where theres some??
TTNOS8 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-14-03, 06:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 150
Re: 4 Bolt Block?

I've got 2 at home one is '72 Mach1 CJ std bore other is '73 Mach 1 CJ +030. Not for sale.
XC351 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-14-03, 11:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Newcastle NSW Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 109
Question Re: 4 Bolt Block?

Can a standard block be modified to accept the 4 bolt caps if you were considering supercharging?
Fat F100 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-15-03, 01:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 150
Re: 4 Bolt Block?

Yes but it can actually weaken the bottom end if not done perfectly if the load isnt spread evenly across the caps. There are a lot of 8 sec cars that run 2 bolt blocks they are not weak in the bottom end like a 2 bolt small block chev.
XC351 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-15-03, 01:33 AM
gone
 
laminge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 10,402
Re: 4 Bolt Block?

if you have a look through my thread I have a couple of pics of one
laminge is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-15-03, 01:52 AM
Veteran Ford Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In a Dark Cave
Posts: 5,316
Re: 4 Bolt Block?

I have a 4 bolt block in the XA ( CJ/Boss). ALL cleveland blocks can be drilled and tapped to accept 4 bolt caps. Unless the machinist is a complete klutz it can only be a good thing.

Is the 4 bolter necessary?? no way .. as stated plenty of quick cars run 2 bolt blocks/caps. It was just the thing to do at the time.

There are 'NASCAR' blocks and 4 bolt blocks. The NASCAR blocks ( with the XExxxxxx casting numbers ) are rare and expensive.
Unless you want a Boss motor for a reason I would be getting a std bore 2 bolt block and converting it.
A NASCAR block setup would want to be for a very serious effort due to the cost.
xacoupe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will 4 speed auto bolt to 250 block? XB250 General Tech 5 04-02-03 02:52 AM
Benifit of EL block over EA/ED Walkinshaw General Tech 5 02-01-03 09:34 PM
Mock Dev 4 WOW!!! Muzza General Tech 17 11-25-02 05:13 AM
XY 4 x 4 Utes XD 351 Ute General Tech 4 08-30-02 04:00 AM
Can ECU cars be tuned for PULP? EA S General Tech 26 12-07-01 10:09 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome