c4 to 390 bell housing? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-05-06, 07:13 AM Thread Starter
tkm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
c4 to 390 bell housing?

I just bought a 72 f100 ranger with a what i was told was a 390C with a 3speed. I want to put this engine in a 86 bronco with a c4 I have been searching for info and have been getting controdicting info. will I have to change the bell housing on the trans or not? the bronco was oringinaly a 302 but now has a 351w? if so will the original f100 3speed bell housing work? any info would be appreciated. Thanks

tkm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-05-06, 01:33 PM
CLEVO KID
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 82
Re: c4 to 390 bell housing?

Hi ,No such thing as a 390C unless its been stroked?,sounds like you have a 390FE [I myself have huge respect for FE's use to have a very tuff 1]if its a big block you will have to change trans-big housing]engine mounts etc,find out exactly what it is first ?post a photo and engine # -check out the FE page on the sight
potty is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-05-06, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
tkm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Re: c4 to 390 bell housing?

will do. thanks for the reply.
tkm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome