C4 or 4 speed??? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2003, 00:35   #1 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
C4 or 4 speed???

I went engine shopping today for my XF, I will probably get a clevo now for sure.
I can get either all the gear to make the clevo suit my 6 cyl single rail or a C4 for $400.

Which should i get? Will the C4 allow for strong take off like my 4 speed?
What would the c4 rev like at 100km/h?

What would you guys choose?
6 cyl single rail or C4?

What are the benefits of going for a c4?
I would like to keep the manual but if it only lasts 5 minutes ill live without it.

Thanks guys
Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2003, 00:57   #2 (permalink)
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 2,580
Re: C4 or 4 speed???

The C4 will handle the 351 better than the single rail, though the single rail will be much better while it lasts, because I think autos suck.
I've destroyed several single rails behind warm 351's.

I have a top loader with Hurst Indy shifter for sale if you're interested.

Rick.
Soxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 01:00   #3 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
Re: C4 or 4 speed???

How much?? How much would i pay for a top loader otherwise?

Will i still be able to spin the wheels with a stock 351 and C4? Will standstills be an issue?

Thanks
Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 01:16   #4 (permalink)
RIP Sox.....
 
Soxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney
Age: 45
Posts: 2,580
Re: C4 or 4 speed???

I want about $1200 for my top loader, as it's a close ratio unit. It also has a good shifter.

It depends what diff ratio you have with regards to spinning the wheels.

If you have lower than 3.25's then spinning the wheels will be no problem, however if youhave taller than that, it may be a problem.
It also depends on your tyres and whether the diff is LSD or not.

There are many variables.

Rick.
Soxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 01:48   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 227
Re: C4 or 4 speed???

Single rail will last behind a stock 351, I've had two 351 in different vehicles and they lasted OK. Generally the first thing to go are the bearing, you'll hear them whine, the input shaft will wobble a fair bit.

If your spinning the wheels a lot and use the gearbox agressively it won't last as long.

The RPM at 100km/h for both a c4 and single rail would depend on your diff ratio and tire size. A 2.75 diff with 14' tires will do around 2300rpm at 100.

Manuals are more fun than auto's I'd go the manual single rail, then when you have more $$$$ buy a toploader, you should be able to get one for around $500-600.

Also don't use a twin plate clutch, use a single 11' clutch and pressure plate, there stronger.

You might have to change your diff and ratio to handle 351, whats the current setup?

Paul
clevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 05:38   #6 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
Re: C4 or 4 speed???

Its currently the stock 2.92 single spinner diff.
If i keep the single rail to use with the V8 will i need a new clutch?

I would have thought that since my Dad's old EA with 2.77 ratio could spin them then a 5.8 with a 2.92 single spinner should have no problems. I would hate to put this engine in then not be able to perform whan my mates demand it. They are commodore drivers, i cop enough grief.

Thanks
Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 06:08   #7 (permalink)
###AND EDGT DRIVER###
 
xf351gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: perth W.A.
Posts: 713
Re: C4 or 4 speed???

i had a 277 with a c4 no problem with spinning (got video)
if you keep the single rail you need a
bell housing
flywheel
clutch
clutch pedals
clutch master cyilinder , slave ,connection hose.

the v8`s in that range is hydrolic clutch not cable thats going to be the costly part inless you get a compete conversion.

it would be cheaper and more realiable with a c4 but you cant go as wild with the cam without getting a high stall.

Last edited by xf351gt; 10-09-2003 at 06:10.
xf351gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 06:21   #8 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
Re: C4 or 4 speed???

I was quoted $400 for the whole kit to convert, it did include the hydraulic clutch set up but not sure if a new clutch was included. This was from a wrecker on canterbury road.
Will I need to change my pedal box?
I might go the C4 for now and save up and get myself a nice 5 speed supra box or something like that. My mate has one in his torana and its very nice. As long as it can go okay and put on a show i dont mind if its auto. I dont plan on doing anything drastic to this engine for a while either.

Will i need to change pedals if i change to auto?

Thanks a lot.
Dan
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 06:41   #9 (permalink)
###AND EDGT DRIVER###
 
xf351gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: perth W.A.
Posts: 713
Re: C4 or 4 speed???

can change the pivot point its level with the brake.
and the cable part above.

i managed to make it but took many hours of labor think your making the right idea if your picking a auto.

you could just remove the extra pedal the clutch just means you have a smaller brake pedal that a auto could bolt on a after market wider pedal.
xf351gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 06:45   #10 (permalink)
Chasing 500rwkw
 
DansEdgli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,176
Re: C4 or 4 speed???

That seems a lot easier and cheaper than kleeping a manual that i might destroy within a week. I will go the auto and have a nice cruiser for a little while.

Thanks for your help.

Is your XF engineered? Does it run gas? do you get hassled by the law in it?
DansEdgli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Year was 1976 .... russellw The Pub 21 03-15-2003 09:13
3 Speed Vs 4 Speed vbman187 Drag Racing Technique 35 02-26-2003 09:00
3 vs 4 vs 5 speed boxes. AUII_Forte General Tech 15 02-19-2003 23:12
4 speed to 3 speed SiX_iN_a_RoW General Tech 10 10-29-2002 14:09
Need 4 Speed 4 (Not how it use to be) XR_Strider_GuY The Pub 17 08-17-2002 20:13

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.