Falcon Coupe's C6 is in - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2005, 06:57   #1 (permalink)
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

Here's the low down.

2" piped extractors don't fit. So some more mods there.
Factory long bellhousing bolts work with plenty of thread in.
C4 flex plate is used.
Factory trans mount works manual/auto is the same.
Factory trans crossmember works at this stage. Looks like it'll be fine anyway.

To be varified :

tailshaft length

I can say I've honestly only had two autos fit up that easy in around 12 years. My glide and this c6. Buggered if I know why. Maybe it's second nature now since I've removed and fitted plenty.

If Falcon Coupe does some more tomorrow? We can clarify the conversion some more. It's not a hard conversion contrary to what some have said.
__________________
XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-02-2005, 07:06   #2 (permalink)
The Deputy Dogg.
 
falcon coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vic/Berwick
Age: 44
Posts: 1,862
Re: Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

Quote:
Originally Posted by brenx
It's not a hard conversion contrary to what some have said.
The only painfull part about it is when Brenx smacks you across the head with the crossmember
Thanks for the help mate, and Crochunter will be happy to know that plenty of and pizza helped the job along.

Edit: My expensive clutch and flywheel are showing some signs of stress, the auto is definately the better option, if the input shafts didn't break something else soon would have.
__________________
Member of the the Trans Pacific Moderator Tag Team
falcon coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 07:22   #3 (permalink)
'60 F100 Q-Code
 
davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 750
Re: Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon coupe
The only painfull part about it is when Brenx smacks you across the head with the crossmember
Thanks for the help mate, and Crochunter will be happy to know that plenty of and pizza helped the job along.

Edit: My expensive clutch and flywheel are showing some signs of stress, the auto is definately the better option, if the input shafts didn't break something else soon would have.
Sounds like "by far" the easiest (and least expensive) choice...let us know how it hooks and grabs you when you apply power to it.


:davis:
davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 07:31   #4 (permalink)
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Re: Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

It's pretty much the same as a glide conversion just without the trans crossmember and speedo cable.

Yes that clutch assembly looks punished but it was still hanging in there.
__________________
XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 07:37   #5 (permalink)
PHAT COUPES
 
tony xa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: PERTH
Posts: 896
Re: Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

Not good news for me .
To hear the toploader didn't hold up as I am using one with around the same horse power.
I like manuals better so five speed might be the way to go for me later .
I had a c6 in my bronco and managed to blow the whole thing not even the housing could be reused .In saying that it was great before and after that . In my bronco 1st gear was long up to about 90km before cherping the wheels into second .I think you will enjoy the C6 and the piece of mind that it is strong .
tony xa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 07:41   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
xdclevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cairns
Posts: 1,946
Re: Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony xa
Not good news for me .
To hear the toploader didn't hold up as I am using one with around the same horse power.
.
You should be worried. I would say your power will be a good bit more. If you didn't i would be really surprized.
xdclevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 07:45   #7 (permalink)
The Deputy Dogg.
 
falcon coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vic/Berwick
Age: 44
Posts: 1,862
Re: Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

Tony i looked at the Tremec TKO 600 five speed, it can take 600ft/lbs
of torque and with 4:88 gears it will rev at 2600 rpm in top gear, i spoke with Mal wood (who said no TKO has ever broken a shaft) and it sounded like a good all round option, but at nearly $5k complete it's a little pricey, a strong C6 can be built for half that with convertor.
No way i would run a toploader in your combo, Brenx saw what my "strong" input shaft from Texas looks like when we pulled the box out tonight.
__________________
Member of the the Trans Pacific Moderator Tag Team
falcon coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 14:55   #8 (permalink)
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Re: Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

shaft = nicely trwisted.
__________________
XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 16:46   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TruBlu351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 2,398
Re: Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcon coupe
The only painfull part about it is when Brenx smacks you across the head with the crossmember
Did you reply with a torque wrench left cross to the kneecaps?

Interesting about that "extreme" clutch. Might see what Mal's customers are using on the TKO's.
__________________
XE Falcon
393 Tremec TKO 9"
TruBlu351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 16:47   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 330
Re: Falcon Coupe's C6 is in

Toploaders have been causing bother in hotted up streeters for years. They can handle 300-350 hp on street tyres for ever but put slicks on and make the car hook up, then a t/loader is as weak as p1ss. As is a 9" diff.

The 4 sp. is still my choice of box for a GT but there's no way I'd race a fast car with one.
northey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:55.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.