MSD ignition and tacho's - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-05, 05:31 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
fastfalc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 52
MSD ignition and tacho's

I was just reading the installation book for my 6A box and it seems that i wont be able to use the original in dash tach unless i get a tach adapter.

For those of you with a MSD,what has been your experience with this issue?

Thanks

fastfalc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-05, 05:43 AM
ESP Man
 
shaynet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gosford NSW Australia
Age: 63
Posts: 888
Re: MSD ignition and tacho's

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfalc
I was just reading the installation book for my 6A box and it seems that i wont be able to use the original in dash tach unless i get a tach adapter.

For those of you with a MSD,what has been your experience with this issue?

Thanks
When I hooked up my 6AL the dash tacho stopped working I think - or was that when I installed the extra tacho? Not sure know so can't help, sorry.

The cop said "Do you know why I pulled you over". I said " Well, that all depends on how long you have been following me!"
shaynet is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-05, 06:20 AM
Registered User
 
STROKEXD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,373
Re: MSD ignition and tacho's

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfalc
I was just reading the installation book for my 6A box and it seems that i wont be able to use the original in dash tach unless i get a tach adapter.

For those of you with a MSD,what has been your experience with this issue?

Thanks
On an XD 351 with electronic ignition there are no issues, despite what the MSD literature states. So same would apply to any clevo with electronic ignition.

STROKEXD is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-05, 02:46 PM
82XE 351c
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Coast, NSW
Posts: 628
Re: MSD ignition and tacho's

Quote:
Originally Posted by STROKEXD
On an XD 351 with electronic ignition there are no issues, despite what the MSD literature states. So same would apply to any clevo with electronic ignition.
I can vouch for ther XE 6cl dash tach working fine. mine is cut off at the moment as i was trying to find some issues i was having, the issue is fixed and it wasn't the trach.
pracy is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-05, 02:50 PM
Registered User
 
xb351coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 343
Re: MSD ignition and tacho's

I have both my factory tacho and an autometer procomp connected to my MSD.... Never had an issue!
xb351coupe is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-05, 04:30 PM
old B - new B
 
351cid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: sunshine coast QLD
Age: 51
Posts: 890
Re: MSD ignition and tacho's

factory tacho in my XB will not work with the MSD 6AL . it is an older system though so maybe they have changed it.

i use a Auto Meter tacho.

have spoken to an instrument techo who thinks he can adapt the original tacho to work. just havent got around to giving it to him yet.

dave
`75 XB FAIRMONT SEDAN injected 351, toplaoder, disc brake 9", factory paint+ vinyl roof.
`03 BA XLS ute - lpg, auto, lsd, acid rush paint,
WWW.sunshield.biz
351cid is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-05, 04:43 PM
Registered User
 
xb351coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 343
Re: MSD ignition and tacho's

Quote:
Originally Posted by 351cid
factory tacho in my XB will not work with the MSD 6AL . it is an older system though so maybe they have changed it.

i use a Auto Meter tacho.

have spoken to an instrument techo who thinks he can adapt the original tacho to work. just havent got around to giving it to him yet.

I have a 6AL running with my Factory Tacho in my XB !!
xb351coupe is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-26-05, 07:36 PM
Smoke? What Smoke?
 
Red04VXE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Loganholme QLD
Age: 40
Posts: 92
Re: MSD ignition and tacho's

th tacho in my coupe works fine with msd 6al, just a bit slow.
Red04VXE is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-27-05, 05:43 AM
V8 man
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 73
Re: MSD ignition and tacho's

My V8 XB GS has an MSD 6AL,I originally had it on the single point distributor and the tacho was fine,but when i hooked it up to a magnetic trigger dizzy it was mega slow!If you wait long enough it will catch up but Geez if you have got a real engine you will be smackin the rev limiter quicker than you can say muffed shift!you can get your factory tach recalibrated with a VDO guts for around $200,I did and it is dead accurate and keeps the factory look....
gs1973 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 10-27-05, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
fastfalc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 52
Re: MSD ignition and tacho's

Thanks for the info guys, i guess i'll just have to put it on and see what happens

Quote:
Originally Posted by gs1973
My V8 XB GS has an MSD 6AL,I originally had it on the single point distributor and the tacho was fine,but when i hooked it up to a magnetic trigger dizzy it was mega slow!If you wait long enough it will catch up but Geez if you have got a real engine you will be smackin the rev limiter quicker than you can say muffed shift!you can get your factory tach recalibrated with a VDO guts for around $200,I did and it is dead accurate and keeps the factory look....
where can you get the vdo guts from? cause i want to keep mine looking factory standard .
fastfalc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome