Temp gauge capillary - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2005, 15:27   #1 (permalink)
82XE 351c
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Coast, NSW
Posts: 627
Temp gauge capillary

Hey guys, trying to fit an autometer 2 1/16 mech temp gauge..
wondering what you guys have done to over-come the whole size needed in the firewall to route the capillary tube?
It wants about a 22mm hole cut for the end to fit through?

and couple things;
-can the tubing be removed from gauge? would make routing easier!

because i have my gauge on the inside of cab, how do they think 6ft is long enough? because routing around near the battery and then through the firewall near the oil sender neeeds near 10ft of length..
unless I run it through the firewall and straight over my motor to the thermo housing, I dont have a chance!!
running the tubing over the motor would cause heat problems i am thinking?

So is it possible to get it made longer? or buy a longer one or do I have to loose out on this one and buy the 12ft version that only reads 120-240F instead?

or electric gauge?

I admit I didn't think of the length because of was just picturing going over the motor :( but i was surprised the gauge it attached to the gauge!

cheers all
pracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2005, 18:19   #2 (permalink)
Big Motor Top Loader !!
 
xrgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 284
Re: Temp gauge capillary

Quote:
Originally Posted by pracy
Hey guys, trying to fit an autometer 2 1/16 mech temp gauge..
wondering what you guys have done to over-come the whole size needed in the firewall to route the capillary tube?
It wants about a 22mm hole cut for the end to fit through?

and couple things;
-can the tubing be removed from gauge? would make routing easier!

because i have my gauge on the inside of cab, how do they think 6ft is long enough? because routing around near the battery and then through the firewall near the oil sender neeeds near 10ft of length..
unless I run it through the firewall and straight over my motor to the thermo housing, I dont have a chance!!
running the tubing over the motor would cause heat problems i am thinking?

So is it possible to get it made longer? or buy a longer one or do I have to loose out on this one and buy the 12ft version that only reads 120-240F instead?

or electric gauge?

I admit I didn't think of the length because of was just picturing going over the motor :( but i was surprised the gauge it attached to the gauge!

cheers all
...mine had a about the right sized hole top drivers side on the firewall, where the factory wiring goes through. Ran it down past the shock tower and accross to the front of the block. Had to remove alternator brackets to fit to block. 6ft is no problem. Gauge is mounted just above the trans tunnel under dash...

Be carefull not to damage the tube. I damaged one a while ago and it appears that there was a strong stench similar to 'ether' coming from the gauge!!
xrgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 18:42   #3 (permalink)
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Re: Temp gauge capillary

Behind the driverside head is a perfect size hole for it to fit threw It's roughly around the same height as the top of the bellhousing.
__________________
XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 19:24   #4 (permalink)
82XE 351c
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Coast, NSW
Posts: 627
Re: Temp gauge capillary

hmm well with the XE i have no hole left, being manual still and all!!

I called rocket and they will take the gauge back even with no plastic rap, which is good.

so know i have the choice of either going the 120-240 with 12ft and drilling a 22mm hole or going a full swep electri gauge.

i think i might go electri, any bad sides?

cheers
pracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 19:36   #5 (permalink)
74 XB Fairmont
 
brenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranbourne, Vic
Posts: 5,113
Re: Temp gauge capillary

I'm sure it's there. From inside the car it's up and just to the left from the brake pedal.
__________________
XB Fairmont (street car) 11.07@123.02mph.
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 22:20   #6 (permalink)
82XE 351c
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Coast, NSW
Posts: 627
Re: Temp gauge capillary

anyone got any thoughts on electric verasion because it looks like I will go this way?.....

brenx: the hole must be used because i know there is none spair :( i hae to over-come this everytime i need to put something into cab etc...
pracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 05:02   #7 (permalink)
ignorance is bliss
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: warrnambool
Posts: 281
Re: Temp gauge capillary

Can you unplug the main loom, drag it through the hole then notch the grommet big enough for the cable size?
clevokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 11:42   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TruBlu351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 2,398
Re: Temp gauge capillary

I'm running an autometer mechnical gauge on the XD with a 6 foot long tube. The running along the motor won't cause any false readings because its colder than the sensor anyway.

My firewall had a "spare" hole (ie: just big enough to fit the aluminium fitting thru from the inside - just behind the left rocker cover). I fitted a rubber grommet into the hole with a slit for the tubing to sit in so it doesn't rub and cut through.

Mechanicals are heaps better.

You can see all the round balck rubber grommets I have fitted to the firewall on the left and the numerous holes to choose from - although I've ripped most things out

__________________
XE Falcon
393 Tremec TKO 9"
TruBlu351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Cleveland Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:45.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.