302 in bronco II - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-13-05, 04:57 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
302 in bronco II

I have an 89 bronco II that motor is shot in & also have access to 83 302 motor & overdrive tranny. Does anybody know if the 302 & trans will fit in the broncoII w/o major modifications. Thanks for any info.

ThirdDay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-14-05, 03:40 AM
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 63
Posts: 6,360
Re: 302 in bronco II

It will fit but you'll need to changeover Bronco induction etc if they are speed density...

Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...
ebxr8240 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-14-05, 09:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Townsville
Age: 43
Posts: 1,212
Re: 302 in bronco II

Whats in ur bronco now ??? Is it a 6 cyl ??? Do u need a 302W Bronco sump in vgc ???

regards
Stephen
clevo400 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-14-05, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Re: 302 in bronco II

Yes, the bronco II has a 2.9l v6. I am not sure the 302 would fit in the engine compartment, especially where the evaporator core for the a/c is located. I think it would really be a sweet ride if it would fit. I was hoping somebody else had done it & could offer suggestions.
ThirdDay is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-15-05, 08:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Townsville
Age: 43
Posts: 1,212
Re: 302 in bronco II

Its a straightways V6 with 4wd and not an east west motor ??? I dion't know much about 4wd but I thought all Broncos come out with V8 option and hopefully left that style of crossmember in it so just engine mounts and sump and ur away !!!

regards
Stephen
clevo400 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-15-05, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Re: 302 in bronco II

The truck is a bronco 2. The smaller version & it has a 2.9 l v6
ThirdDay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Windsor Tech


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome