351 windsor cam questions - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Windsor Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2011, 17:51   #1 (permalink)

351 windsor cam questions

I just bought a 351 Windsor out of an 86 ecoline van which I'm just beginning to tear down. I've not gotten to the valve train yet but I'm almost positive its not a roller block based on the fact that its an 86. I'm looking to upgrade the cam and valve train so I have a few questions. I know that a roller cam won't work so I'm looking into a flat tappet cam. Will both a mechanical and hydraulic flat tappet cam work if this is not a roller block? Also, what are the advantages and disadvantages with a mechanical vs hydraulic cam?
hunnerdean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-27-2011, 08:54   #2 (permalink)

Re: 351 windsor cam questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by hunnerdean View Post
I just bought a 351 Windsor out of an 86 ecoline van which I'm just beginning to tear down. I've not gotten to the valve train yet but I'm almost positive its not a roller block based on the fact that its an 86. I'm looking to upgrade the cam and valve train so I have a few questions. I know that a roller cam won't work so I'm looking into a flat tappet cam. Will both a mechanical and hydraulic flat tappet cam work if this is not a roller block? Also, what are the advantages and disadvantages with a mechanical vs hydraulic cam?