351w rear seal - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Windsor Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2005, 16:04   #1 (permalink)
Randy Williams
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Port Huron, MI
Age: 29
Posts: 63
351w rear seal

i had a question on here a few weeks ago, about using a 95 crank in a 69 block. does anyone know what rear seal i should use? i don't it to leak oil on me after i spend all the money.

thanks randy
95RANGER351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2005, 16:05   #2 (permalink)
Randy Williams
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Port Huron, MI
Age: 29
Posts: 63
Re: 351w rear seal

sorry 85 crank in a 69 block
95RANGER351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 03:16   #3 (permalink)
slikxb
 
buzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: bright, vic
Posts: 220
Re: 351w rear seal

2 piece seal for a 69 block(rope one). You can use the one piece seal (neoprene) if you take the spike out of the #5 mains cap. The spike I'm talking about is there to stab into the rope seal to stop it moving, you'll see it if you look inside the #5 cap.
hope this helps, Buzz
buzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 01:00   #4 (permalink)
Turbo 351TC "Coming soon"
 
TD302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Alex Hills Qld
Age: 39
Posts: 259
Re: 351w rear seal

What i did was... get the block and rear cap machined to fit a ford 250 (they come in two different sizes so make sure you get the right one) one piece seal. Only cost me $80 to get done and and it's much better then any 2 piece seal
__________________
California Speed Supplies
HOGG Performance (07)33764333
"Blocks and women are the same, if you got a good one it won't need a girdle"
TD302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 00:54   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
xpc66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 155
Re: 351w rear seal

I used a split lip from a Falcon 6 on my 302, without any machining. That way it can be removed and changed without too much fuss. I don't know if the 351 is the same size.
__________________
Go the Brisbane Lions
xpc66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 03:15   #6 (permalink)
Turbo 351TC "Coming soon"
 
TD302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Alex Hills Qld
Age: 39
Posts: 259
Re: 351w rear seal

This is what it looked like after machining.....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Block1.JPG (79.6 KB, 60 views)
__________________
California Speed Supplies
HOGG Performance (07)33764333
"Blocks and women are the same, if you got a good one it won't need a girdle"
TD302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 20:10   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ZCFairlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 25
Thumbs up Re: 351w rear seal

Buzz has it exactly right.

Make sure you remove the spike for the old two piece rope oil seal on the 69 block.

I used the one piece seal on my 1969 Windsor and that is definitely the way to go. Rope seals always leak sooner or later.

Hope this helps.
ZCFairlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 15:32   #8 (permalink)
Randy Williams
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Port Huron, MI
Age: 29
Posts: 63
Re: 351w rear seal

hey guys, again....

i just looked at my main cap (#5) and i do not see any kind of spike in it.
just grooves for the seals to sit in. one of the spots between the grooves is kind of pointed but curved along with the inside of the cap. i'm sure the way i just explained is probably confusing, but if anyone needs a picture i will get one.

there is also a scuff mark like someone might have grinded something down in one of the grooves. i'm thinking maybe the "spike" was already grounded out??? i dunno, i will just send a pic and hopefully someone can help me.

thanks,
Randy
95RANGER351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Windsor Tech



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.