studs or bolts - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-22-04, 03:48 AM Thread Starter
347
Registered User
 
347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 651
studs or bolts

You guys running stroker etc....are you running head studs or bolts?


What ever I have will never be enough !
Fear is only Fear itself !

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~two89w/
347 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-22-04, 04:04 AM
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 43
Posts: 3,585
Re: studs or bolts

Studs mate..... All the way!!!

FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-22-04, 04:08 AM Thread Starter
347
Registered User
 
347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 651
Re: studs or bolts

svo..what head gaskets are you running?

What ever I have will never be enough !
Fear is only Fear itself !

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~two89w/
347 is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-22-04, 05:26 AM
Two SC 61's = trouble
 
ebxr8240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Penrith,nswAus/Morrinville.NZ
Age: 63
Posts: 6,360
Re: studs or bolts

Studs and Cometic gasgets..Best by far even better than O ringed copper gasgets, wel less hassles with sealing, they have varying thickness up to .080...www.serco.com.au

They make them for Fords as well...
http://mk1.com.au/gaskets.htm

Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic!
.
Tuned & maintained by "Peppertree Perfmormance". Dart block, Scat 4340 steel crank, Custom C.P pistons.Oliver rods.. Mal Wood twin plate clutch.. Twin SC61/2's,482 rwkw/ 645 rwhp..
Passengers, myocardial infarction material..
R.I.P Possum...

Last edited by ebxr8240; 03-22-04 at 05:41 AM.
ebxr8240 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-22-04, 05:35 AM
Officially Bored with 347
 
svo347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Perth West Oz
Age: 43
Posts: 3,585
Re: studs or bolts

Felpro
If you need specifics i can have a look at the blueprinting sheet

FORD.... "POWER TO THE PEOPLE"...

Member of the "TKTDSGM " Group..
svo347 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-23-04, 01:10 AM Thread Starter
347
Registered User
 
347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 651
Re: studs or bolts

Are you able to put the heads on whilst the block is still in the car when you are using studs??
Svo.....if you could find out what gaskets you are using that would be handy.

What ever I have will never be enough !
Fear is only Fear itself !

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~two89w/
347 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-23-04, 01:29 AM
Registered User
 
Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 992
Re: studs or bolts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 347
Are you able to put the heads on whilst the block is still in the car when you are using studs??
Svo.....if you could find out what gaskets you are using that would be handy.
Should you be unable to remove the heads, you can unscrew the studs and remove them seperately. Usually just removing the top row will do it.

ps:
What was wrong? Have you had the heads pressure tested?
Racer is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-23-04, 02:53 AM Thread Starter
347
Registered User
 
347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 651
Re: studs or bolts

Next week i will find out............Racer do you run studs or bolts?and what head gaskets are you using?

What ever I have will never be enough !
Fear is only Fear itself !

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~two89w/
347 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-23-04, 03:18 AM
blue66coupe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
roll Re: studs or bolts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racer
Should you be unable to remove the heads, you can unscrew the studs and remove them seperately. Usually just removing the top row will do it.

ps:
What was wrong? Have you had the heads pressure tested?
Umm try it with an XP , got's ta remove all studs (damn strut supports)
 
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-23-04, 03:19 AM
Registered User
 
Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 992
Re: studs or bolts

The 302 (Cortina) used 1/2 ARP studs torqued to 110/100ft/lbs, Felpro 1011-1
The 347 uses 7/16 ARP bolts torqued 80/70ft/lbs, Felpro 8548-PT2
Racer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Windsor Tech


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto to manual conversion guide mongrelEB Trans | Driveline 79 12-18-11 03:27 PM
Clevo rod bolts xr8_sprint Cleveland Tech 9 01-10-04 09:32 AM
Base Care Warranty - doesn't cover bolts..? xr8ute The Pub 2 08-21-03 07:57 PM
Replace std bolts with polished s/steel hex key bolts mikenicko General Tech 12 01-21-02 01:06 AM
4.6 head gaskets and bolts CHEAP!!! tim87114 Modular Tech 0 12-24-01 10:27 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome