Ford Forums banner

URGENT any ideas?

2K views 18 replies 7 participants last post by  ebxr8240 
#1 ·
fitted my painted rocker covers last night and now the car wont run!

it fires up and then runs for like a second then dies

if you give it a bit it keeps runnijng but really roughly and sounds like its missfiring but as soon as you take your foot off the accelerator it dies again

i didnt unplug any of the leads or anything so theyre not mixed up or anything

anyone got any ideas?

i didnt replace the intake manifold gasket but to me this doesnt sound like its anything to do with a leak or anything, seems electrical, but hey im no expert

#4 ·
ummmm go back to the 6cyl forum dellboy!!

hehe we don't have a map sensor :p

Check for plugs left hanging in the breeze. Unplugged MAF or TPS can cause this. I was having a little play round unplugging bits and peices to see what would happen. If you wind a plug find the other side to it. They make em so that every thing is a differnt shape and can only go one place.

#6 ·
NZ said:
ummmm go back to the 6cyl forum dellboy!!

hehe we don't have a map sensor :p

Check for plugs left hanging in the breeze. Unplugged MAF or TPS can cause this. I was having a little play round unplugging bits and peices to see what would happen. If you wind a plug find the other side to it. They make em so that every thing is a differnt shape and can only go one place.
yep didnt think i had a map, thought i only had a maf

cant find any loose plugs that was the first thing i checked
and have continually checked

#11 ·
Check for air leaks around rocker cover gagsets...If there is any leaks the engine is sucking in unmettered air and runs lean...It sounds like a vacuum hose or similar is off ???
PCV etc back on ?? They run like that if oil cap is off, so work from there..

BTW early V8's did have map as well.It was used to measure barro pressure, it was vented to atmo not inlet...

#13 ·