Very newbie. Mild Edelbrock 351W upgrades on 75 Torino? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Windsor Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2006, 18:02   #1 (permalink)

Very newbie. Mild Edelbrock 351W upgrades on 75 Torino?

Hi I'm brand new to engine upgrades, and would appreciate any advice on the Edelbrock parts below or what to look out for. I'm still in 1st grade when it comes to this stuff...

I recently bought a real nice survivor 75 Gran Torino. The car has been stored for years and is in near perfect shape with 27k and all stock except new rims, air shocks, and dual exhaust. Car has 351w 2v with FMX transmission and 3.0:1. Probably about 158hp as-is.

I want to do some mild performance upgrades to the engine and give it more spirit *but I'm not looking to make a strip rocket.* If I could get about 200-220hp I'll be perfectly happy. I also want to keep it relatively inexpensive, with parts I can find in local shops. The edelbrock performer matched parts seem to fit all that criteria and I'm pretty focused on them-- I can buy them right down the street. I've got little experience under the hood so I'll need a garage to do the work, but I want to have a good plan in place before I start.

I'd prefer not to do a full rebuild, but worried the bolt on parts might stress the internals. Can I use a 4v edelbrock performer intake on the stock 2v engine or should I go with the 2v intake? Will I need better valves or springs?