XR8..rough idle/fuel problem?? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Windsor Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2003, 16:57   #1 (permalink)
1 bad 302

frown XR8..rough idle/fuel problem??

Hi guys, My car=EF XR8. Slushbox and only has exhaust modded. 108,000K's.

Of late, at the lights the idle sits on around 700 rpm and feels like a lumpy cam. (I wish). Put in neutral, no load, and starts to idle as per normal. When i give it say, 70% acceleration it feels a bit sluggish to start and then it takes off.
Not being an expert, i think in basics. My thoughts are the fuelfilter. The car used to get serviced at the dealer, though now i do a bit of it myself. Oil and filter, brakes etc.
I cannot recall if the fuel filter was ever changed as i have never done it myself. Had new plugs put in when it was dyno'd some time ago and put new quality leads in myself.

Being the original owner from new, i know nothing has been done to the engine.
If anyone had a simular problem or has an idea what may be the cause, please gives us a few pointers.

I have done a few searches and cannot find what i'm looking for.

Regards

Jon
dragonV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2003, 17:16   #2 (permalink)
boosted sleeper

Re: XR8..rough idle/fuel problem??

Fuel filters should be changed every 25,000k's but I doubt that would be the problem, I would be thinking more serious, like fuel pump. But then again Im no expert either.