NMRA '06 and Modular engines. - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > Modular Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2006, 20:03   #1 (permalink)
DOHC 5.4 Racer

NMRA '06 and Modular engines.

I haven't posted here very much this past year, These guy's kept me very busy.

The '06 season ended this in Bowling Green, Kentucky. When i started playing around with Modular engines and the idea of building a 4V 5.4 in 2000 I had no idea it would come to this.

First, Factory stock.
Congratulations to Jeff Schmell and his 4V Mach 1 on his #2 finish.
Jeff ( as well as the other 4V racers)endured massive drivetrain breakage all season brought on by the NMRA 3.90 gear rule mandates. Collectively they could have filled a dump truck with shattered clutches, transmissions, driveshafts and rear ends. Jeff was going to park is several times this year due to the carnage.

Steve Gifford, 2V GT on his #4 finish in his rookie season.
Steve teamed up with the Modular depot guys and built a new 4v F/S car over '05 He was blind sided with the NMRA rule changes just before the start of the '06 season. He blew 2 clutches and shattered a G Force transmission in Bradenton. Then killed another clutch, explodes a ring and pinion and for good measure split the case on another transmission. All this was more than Steve could bear.
Then yet another rule change by the NMRA.
They allowed ported heads last year on the 2V. Then added any cams with stock lift, headers, 300 less pounds and no rear gear rule.