'73 f250 390 Highboy w/Blown Headgasket - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > FE (330-428) Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2009, 15:16   #1 (permalink)

'73 f250 390 Highboy w/Blown Headgasket

Lemme know if this isn't the best forum for this topic, as I am new to this.

As the topic states I need to replace the head gasket in my 390. I've got a Haynes Manual but I'm not particularly mechanically suave. What I'm looking for is something a little more in-depth to guide me along; particularly a video of v8 rebuild, or any video that might help me understand the process a bit more.

I'd appreciate any links, guides, or videos anyone would be kind enough to point me in the direction of.
Stran is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-21-2009, 15:24   #2 (permalink)

Re: '73 f250 390 Highboy w/Blown Headgasket

Also, I'm half way tempted to use a product called Steel Seal... Please feel free to guide me differently =)
Old 01-21-2009, 15:25   #3 (permalink)
Administrator

This is not the greatest video, but all I could find. It covers the basics using photo stills.

YouTube - Blown Head Gasket - 1968 Ford Galaxie 500
jwko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 15:27   #4 (permalink)
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stran View Post
Also, I'm half way tempted to use a product called Steel Seal... Please feel free to guide me differently =)
Do it right. It would only provide a temporary fix, if it fixes it at all.
Old 01-22-2009, 13:48   #5 (permalink)