Question about the 390....... - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > The Garage - Tech Forums > Engine Specific Tech > FE (330-428) Tech
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2006, 06:32   #1 (permalink)

Question about the 390.......

Hey guys, im really new to all this ford domestic motor stuff, but ive been doing a little resaech here and there on my car and i just have a few questions...

I have a 67 farilane 500 convertable that originaly came with a 289 in it, but an owner down the line had replaced it with a 302.

Now ill be looking to upgrade this motor, expesialy since the 302 never came in that year/model. Now i was thinking about trying to track down the 427, but after i little research i learned how rare they are, and the price tag that comes with one, and its not really an option.

So, i figured the next best thing to actualy having the 427, would be to kind of recreate it.

So, prety much my question is, can the standart 390 block be bored over to the 4.23" bore of the 427 without sacrafising reliability by thining out the walls to much???

And both the 390 and 427 has the same 3.78" stroke????

Also, when shopping for a 390 block, are there many big diffrences in the 390 blocks throughout the year that i swhould be concerned with????

Well, thanks for your time and knoledge....

---Joe
92hatchattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-27-2006, 10:38   #2 (permalink)

Re: Question about the 390.......