tubo- idle down - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
¬Ľ Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > F6 Typhoon | XR6 Turbo
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

F6 Typhoon | XR6 Turbo Turbo Talks start here.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2003, 18:31   #1 (permalink)
the big fella

tubo- idle down

hi,i have an xr6 t on order and am wondering-i drive a truck for a living and it is accepted practice to let the engine idle down for several minutes before tuning it off to allow the turbo to cool down-not doing this is frowned upon!!!
do you guys think this should be the case for a tubo car
rainy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-28-2003, 19:02   #2 (permalink)
blue blooded

most ppl would say not to worry about it ... but I leave her rest a minute before switching her off, especially if I've just thrashed her ... :)

that sounded a bit rude eh?

xr6t ute (289rwkw and fast) & blown Mustang Cobra (347 rwkw and faster)
svtang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2003, 19:14   #3 (permalink)
Territory TS - AWD

I understand that it is MUCH less of an issue with the modern ball bearing turbos as found in the XR6T. The older plain (bush) bearings suffered from the oil coking on their surface if shutdown hot.
Old 04-29-2003, 00:34   #4 (permalink)

Although it is good practice to let car idle down with the ball bearing water cooled turbo on the xr it is not totally ness.
The water cooling also thermo sypons after motor is stop on the xr6t to also combate this problem this why the heater hoses shake after motor is turned off