Ford Forums banner

tubo- idle down

3K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  Grizzly 
#1 ·
hi,i have an xr6 t on order and am wondering-i drive a truck for a living and it is accepted practice to let the engine idle down for several minutes before tuning it off to allow the turbo to cool down-not doing this is frowned upon!!!
do you guys think this should be the case for a tubo car

#2 ·
most ppl would say not to worry about it ... but I leave her rest a minute before switching her off, especially if I've just thrashed her ... :)

that sounded a bit rude eh?

#4 ·
Although it is good practice to let car idle down with the ball bearing water cooled turbo on the xr it is not totally ness.
The water cooling also thermo sypons after motor is stop on the xr6t to also combate this problem this why the heater hoses shake after motor is turned off

#6 ·
Speaking from Jap car experiance, I've owned 6 turbocharged cars and believe me, you will run into trouble eventually if you don't let them idle down, a trip to the shops etc is no problem but if you have been running for extended periods, especially on boost, you should always let it idle down, temps drop dramatically even after only about a min at idle, and heat is the killer, even with a ball bearing turbo, the bearing will coke up with cooked oil no matter how good the oil is you are using, always let them idle down and use a damn good quality oil and change it often.

G
#7 ·
Dakweed said: