dash swap? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Older Fords > Classic Fords > Fairlane | Torino
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Fairlane | Torino Discussion area for Fanatics of the Classic Ford Fairlane and Torino Lines.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2004, 14:23   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 234
dash swap?

will a round dial dash from a falcon fit my strip speedo dash as mine i s split and i prefer the look of the round type
all help/advise welcome
carpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2004, 02:25   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ZC-Cruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 538
Re: dash swap?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carpunk
will a round dial dash from a falcon fit my strip speedo dash as mine i s split and i prefer the look of the round type
all help/advise welcome
I should go straight in - you will have to cut the strip dash plug off the loom (leave some wire on it and mail it to me :-) and get the appropriate bits of wire from the falcon loom to splice into your loom (use male/female bullet connectors).

The wiring diagrams in your workshop manual will tell you what colour wires do what so you'll have no trouble getting it all to work (if you do, I can probably help)

You will also need to get the heater/vent slider thing from the falcon as they are different (the falcon one has the bezel built in & on the Fairlane one the levers just poke through the dash)

You will want to hang on to your old dash as the guage movements are the same as the ones in the XY GT dash (both swing from the top) and will be sought after by people wanting to make a GT dash out of a standard one.

I think that is all you need to look out for - I am about to start working on the XY Wagon and am thinking of doing exactly the reverse of what you are doing (which is why I want you to mail me that dash plug) so if I see any other traps, I'll post them here...
ZC-Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 05:50   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 234
Re: dash swap?

il try sending u p.m many thanx
carpunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2004, 05:52   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ZC-Cruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 538
Re: dash swap?

A bunch of pics here of both kinds of dash - both in and out
http://www.ftw.com.au/cpg/thumbnails.php?album=117

Check out the different guages
ZC-Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Older Fords > Classic Fords > Fairlane | Torino



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
marquis - xc ute dash swap Chartoo Classic Falcons 1 02-28-2004 19:52
EA Dash Swap d_slayer Interior | Electrical | ECU 17 11-18-2003 04:38
EB Smartlock instrument dash Replacment with EA Spack AU1SIXA Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 11-15-2003 22:42
EA dash into EBII? jim5_0 Interior | Electrical | ECU 5 09-30-2003 02:18

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:30.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.