Ford Forums banner

AU falcon ute or AUII???

3K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  johnnyford 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

I have 18-20k to spend and im looking for a ute, have had my eye on a XR6 but im 21 and insurance is going to kill me.

basically i want something with 50,000-80,000 on the clock, built around 2000 and something that goes well with potential to mod. Not going to V8 route because i want some fuel economy..im a student :beerbottl

So far im either looking at a AU or AUII XLS 4.0L in manual.

Anyone have one? any problems? have heard engine is harsh. Any advice/info would be appreciated ! thanks.

#3 ·
Hmm, everyones opinion is different and depends on what other cars they've driven etc. I guess but personally I would not say the engine is harsh - IMHO Falcon I6's - esp. ones as modern as AU versions are lovely and smooth and quiet etc.

I know there were numerous changes (mostly minor I think) between AU and AU2 whereas AU2-AU3 were hardly any different. Someone here can probably tell you the changes or search the net for 'em and consider if those affect your descision. I can't tell you much else on the engine from experience as I own the eight, but either way I think you can't go wrong looking at that sorta ute. AU series utes are great! :hy:

Steve.

#5 ·
Hey this thread still going? i'll just put in my two cents anyway!!

I've got an AUII XLS 4.0L manual ute. I'm no mechanic lol but mine is going really well. no probs so far and i got it at 95 000kms. have only done about 4,000kms in it so far though...