Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Ute Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2004, 01:51   #1 (permalink)
BA XR8 Driver
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth
Posts: 233
Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

If I pickup a premium ICC (with colour screen) from a wrecker, is it possible to replace my prestige ICC in my ute, by just plugging in the premium ICC....
The connectors appear the same.
I remember reading that I would maybe need to get Ford to reprogram the computer to recognise it, is this all do-able?

Does anyone know the facts?
__________________
Cheers
Brett
XR6na is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2004, 01:55   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: CESSNOCK
Age: 30
Posts: 71
Re: Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

I Want To Know To. I Couldn't See Why It Wouldn't Work. I Dont Think That They Would Change The Whole Loom Just For Premium Sound
JOSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:05   #3 (permalink)
BA XR8 Driver
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth
Posts: 233
Re: Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOSH
I Want To Know To. I Couldn't See Why It Wouldn't Work. I Dont Think That They Would Change The Whole Loom Just For Premium Sound
Yeah, that's what I thought, I understand that I won't have a subwoofer but everything else should be the same!?!?
__________________
Cheers
Brett
XR6na is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 21:42   #4 (permalink)
walking power
 
Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: who cares
Posts: 3,035
Re: Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

I think its a pretty technical job and probably not as easy as it seems, i believe Herrod has done it but it costs a bit.
__________________
Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 15:23   #5 (permalink)
Pursuit Reincarnation Dog
 
Aussie Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Melbourne VIC
Posts: 7,777
Re: Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

Herrod hasn't done it.

It involves a complete ICC change, loom change, ECU etc change and the cost in parts alone isw upward of $4500. Although you will have Satnav enabled for that.

I know of one person who has done it and they had contacts within Ford to help out. Not easy.

However, Ford should make it an option because the Pursuit deserves it!
__________________
BA'1.5' Pursuit 290
Lightning Strike / Reflective Orange Stripes

'General' Dog - AP's German Shepherd and Best Mate - 02Dec1998-15Dec2003.
'Pepper' Dog - General's and My Little German Shepherd Sweetie - 1996?-02Apr2006.

'Sako' Dog - My Beautiful and Pretty German Shepherd - 2001?-23Aug2006.
Aussie Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 23:46   #6 (permalink)
In Pursuit of excellence
 
cams290's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: vermont
Age: 45
Posts: 855
Re: Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie Pete
Herrod hasn't done it.

It involves a complete ICC change, loom change, ECU etc change and the cost in parts alone isw upward of $4500. Although you will have Satnav enabled for that.

I know of one person who has done it and they had contacts within Ford to help out. Not easy.

However, Ford should make it an option because the Pursuit deserves it!
AP, i was speaking to a guy with the exact same color/stripe ute as mine at the servo about two weeks ago. His Father has a Pursuit also, he was telling me that a tree branch speared the windscreen and went thru the top of the ICC, stuffing it.
Any way the car went to a panel shop who ordered a new ICC for it, but when it arrived it was the color screen one. They fitted in to all the original wiring plugs, but had to get someone from Ford to come out and program it to the BCM.
I would love to get a s/hand one out of a Fairmont/Ghia and put one in my Pursuit, going on what this guy said it isn't too hard !
__________________
Regards
Cameron
---------------------------------------------
BA Pursuit, Blueprint,Silver stripes, Prestige sound, Leather, Sports s/wheel
cams290 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 00:06   #7 (permalink)
BA XR8 Driver
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth
Posts: 233
Re: Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cams290
AP, i was speaking to a guy with the exact same color/stripe ute as mine at the servo about two weeks ago. His Father has a Pursuit also, he was telling me that a tree branch speared the windscreen and went thru the top of the ICC, stuffing it.
Any way the car went to a panel shop who ordered a new ICC for it, but when it arrived it was the color screen one. They fitted in to all the original wiring plugs, but had to get someone from Ford to come out and program it to the BCM.
I would love to get a s/hand one out of a Fairmont/Ghia and put one in my Pursuit, going on what this guy said it isn't too hard !
Cam, that was my understanding as well, I just need confirmation that all I do is plug it in and get a BCM flash from Ford, then I will go out and buy a colour premium ICC.
__________________
Cheers
Brett
XR6na is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 01:20   #8 (permalink)
walking power
 
Fordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: who cares
Posts: 3,035
Re: Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cams290
AP, i was speaking to a guy with the exact same color/stripe ute as mine at the servo about two weeks ago. His Father has a Pursuit also, he was telling me that a tree branch speared the windscreen and went thru the top of the ICC, stuffing it.
Any way the car went to a panel shop who ordered a new ICC for it, but when it arrived it was the color screen one. They fitted in to all the original wiring plugs, but had to get someone from Ford to come out and program it to the BCM.
I would love to get a s/hand one out of a Fairmont/Ghia and put one in my Pursuit, going on what this guy said it isn't too hard !
ther was one on ebay not long ago, i'd love one for the xr too.
__________________
Fordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 15:20   #9 (permalink)
"Bloody Beautiful"
 
TE50 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Victoria
Posts: 415
Re: Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

Hi All,

I purchased the unit on ebay, the unit itself had a problem with the audio module but I had that repaired. As far as installation I have a 2003 XR8 sedan with standard single slot CD. I replaced the unit using all original plugs just had to fit the BEM to the bottom, any way all I needed was dealer to recognise the new unit a 30 second job on their WPS or whatever.

So yes it is possible if you can get a hold of a unit.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------
" Dad, when I grow up I don't want any car, I only want a FORD "
Jnr TE50 1 (After attending 2002 Raid).
------------------------------------------------
TE50 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 20:14   #10 (permalink)
1010100011000.11001100
 
jimmy_c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: :-P
Age: 30
Posts: 403
Re: Premium ICC in Ute, is it possible?

Im glad someone has sorted this out. because im lookin at gettin an XLS ute or Futura. Have not decided.

But i like the ICC in the Fairmont the large monochrome one.

So if it is as easy as it sounds then i will find some more info out.

Im guessing your talking about the WDS (Ford World Diagnostic System)
__________________
BA Fairmont Ghia Blue Pearl , 3V V8
AU Fairmont Ghia Gold, VCT I6 , GAS
jimmy_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Trucks | Utes | Vans |SUVs | Crossovers > Ford Ute Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your thoughts on a Fordforums Promo BA Ute??? philbie The Pub 31 10-06-2004 06:17
Witch is better value XR8 ute or Pursuit ute. lorro FPV & Tickford Forum 28 09-13-2004 17:18
premium sound in ba ute brett_32i Ford Ute Forum 3 07-26-2003 05:50
january ute sales falconS Ford Ute Forum 2 02-12-2003 18:20
Strengthening the ute range Mr GTHO Ford Ute Forum 2 01-17-2003 17:47

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.