Cutting Dashboard for headunit - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Fiesta Forum | Ford kA Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Fiesta. From US to AU discuss this little car and the mods you have done.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-02-04, 06:47 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Age: 32
Posts: 12
Cutting Dashboard for headunit

ive found a cunning alternative to cutting the dashboard to fit a normal din sized head unit.

i rang up a few breakers local to me and found one which had a written off mk6 fiesta, the dash is untouched and i purchased the centre panel for £60.

now when i sell the car i can put the original back in and all is well!
will have to wait a few weeks to fit my new headunit but its all good.
£60 is a bargain, ford wanted £587.50 for the same part!
davebateman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-02-04, 07:36 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sydney, Oz
Age: 36
Posts: 2,631
Re: Cutting Dashboard for headunit

Excuse me? 587.50 pounds for the centre console? Just the plastic bit in the middle?
MrPlow2 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-03-04, 07:33 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Age: 32
Posts: 12
Re: Cutting Dashboard for headunit

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPlow
Excuse me? 587.50 pounds for the centre console? Just the plastic bit in the middle?
just the tiny bit in the middle! i was quite shocked too!
davebateman is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-04-04, 07:02 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sydney, Oz
Age: 36
Posts: 2,631
Re: Cutting Dashboard for headunit

That's insane! Even 60 pounds for a 2nd handie is too much!

Well, back to the drawing board then. I was hoping to get one out of UK but obviously that won't be happening because it's just too expensive.
MrPlow2 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-05-04, 10:04 PM
Zetec Maniac
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Age: 38
Posts: 39
Re: Cutting Dashboard for headunit

Please post pics and what you did. I am really interested in this as I want to do this to my Fiesta.
Cypher is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-07-04, 03:19 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Age: 32
Posts: 12
Re: Cutting Dashboard for headunit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cypher
Please post pics and what you did. I am really interested in this as I want to do this to my Fiesta.
will do, not fitting everything until im back home from uni so will be 2 weeks i think.

but will be head unit, cd changer, amp and sub, whoop.
davebateman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Fiesta Forum | Ford kA Forum
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EA Blue Dashboard modification... santoitaliano Interior | Electrical | ECU 3 07-18-04 03:52 AM
dashboard illumination sandygarf Interior | Electrical | ECU 1 06-10-04 08:17 PM
sub in xf ute without cutting metal heller44 Audio And Security 7 03-06-04 12:23 AM
87 dashboard 5.0 conv saniutza Ford Mustang Forum 1 05-09-03 01:15 PM
Cost cutting falls short, Ford says Stacy94PGT Ford Worldwide News 0 03-04-03 12:23 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome