new headunit - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Fiesta Forum | Ford kA Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Fiesta Forum | Ford kA Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Fiesta. From US to AU discuss this little car and the mods you have done.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2004, 11:45   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South East
Age: 27
Posts: 7
Question new headunit

hey, new question.....

got new headunit, how on earth do i begin to put it in? firstly how do i take the dash out so i can remove the original unit. need to know location of any screws, clips whatever so i can undo them to get to the unit. got a fasia adapter and new dashboard part so i dont have to cut out the plastic

thanks
claire_mk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2004, 12:26   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 39
Re: new headunit

to fit a new headunit open the glove box ull see 2 screws on the right hand side remove these now where the heating controls are theres 2 screws under this remove these now remove the buttons for the heated window using a flat blade screwdriver ull find another 2 screw under this
now remove the panel under the steering wheel i think theres a few screws on show at the bottom ann if you open the coin tray theres 2 in there

remove the cover and ull see another 2 screws on the left had side of the sterring wheel remove these aswell

the only bit to remove now is the heater controls the best way is to stick ur head under the dash drivers side while turn the dial that controls the heat from hot to col ullsee a plastic clip with a metal wire unclip it carefull then with a bit of force the dash should pull away ull still have to disconnect the electriacal feeds to the heater and switches but you just unplug these as you pull the facia panel off

any question my msn addy is mrs_angel_01@hotmail.com

i can send you some pics
simhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 03:34   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 68
Re: new headunit

yeah just like that. you might need a bit of help with that metal rod tho cos i pulled mine out at the other end and couldnt get it back in.

i need to get the new dash panel as i cut mine and it looks crap
mattmk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 04:32   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South East
Age: 27
Posts: 7
Re: new headunit

wow, thats a huge help, thank you. its so hard to work out without knowing!!!
claire_mk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 11:41   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 68
Re: new headunit

i cut my dash, i have to put the proper one in, ordered it 2day from ford. 39 plus vat
mattmk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 16:15   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 44
Re: new headunit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattmk6
i cut my dash, i have to put the proper one in, ordered it 2day from ford. 39 plus vat
Thats not a bad price actually, may be worth getting. Is that the Sat/Nav one then with a big hole especially for a big screen, but in actual fact you put the auto-leads adapter in to it?
Mk6Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 01:27   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 68
Re: new headunit

yes mate thats the one. it was actually 37 inc vat
mattmk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 05:30   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South East
Age: 27
Posts: 7
Re: new headunit

the dash is a little cheaper than i thought. got to fihnd time to go to ford though!! i went in to order one ages ago and havent had time to go back so they'll be pissy at me. but i guess there aint many ppl around here doing the same thng to their fiestas so they shouldnt have to re-order it.
claire_mk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 14:02   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Re: new headunit

mk6 headunit
mk6stoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 16:39   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 68
Re: new headunit

fcuking hell i hate fitting that panel, does anyone else have ****ing problems with that poxy heater direction control cable?

took me about 20mins just do that cable alone last night
mattmk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Fiesta Forum | Ford kA Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP with headunit installation mute Audio And Security 4 03-02-2004 01:52
Frozen au headunit ChannelK Audio And Security 6 10-19-2003 22:43
Fitting a headunit juarez Audio And Security 1 03-29-2003 21:40

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:42.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.