Open Loop Fuel Fault - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Fiesta Forum | Ford kA Forum
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Ford Fiesta Forum | Ford kA Forum Forum for discussion of the Ford Fiesta. From US to AU discuss this little car and the mods you have done.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2013, 04:31   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ireland
Posts: 24
Open Loop Fuel Fault

Hi, I have an mk4 ford fiesta 1.25 zetec and have had it plugged into my OBD scanner and it says i have an Open loop fuel fault and that its not going into the closed loop so the fuel mixture is rich and so its burning more fuel. Im getting no trouble codes up just on the fuel system says I have that fault and that the oxygen sensor and oxygen sensor heater is not working! but again no proper codes.

I have replaced the front oxygen/lambda sensor naturally as thats what it is all pointing to, but still no luck. Any ideas what else it could be? maybe a wiring fault somewhere? Anyone had a similar problem? Thanks
Adam14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2013, 05:03   #2 (permalink)
Moderators
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 10,455
Re: Open Loop Fuel Fault

This might help you

http://www.motorcraftservice.com/vdi...DSM1300_16.pdf

Page 112 refers to the open loop .
R.S.LOGAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:55   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ireland
Posts: 24
Re: Open Loop Fuel Fault

Thanks will have a look :) Im gonna try and measure the volts on the sensor with a voltmeter, as far as i know they should create a bit of voltage on there own without the sensor plugged in? Its showing no voltage at all on though through the OBD scanner :/
Adam14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 11:26   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ireland
Posts: 24
Re: Open Loop Fuel Fault

Had it plugged into the OBD when the sensor and engine were completely cold and as I started the car with the scanner in could watch the voltage rise how it should do, past the normal open loop point at 0.45 and changed into closed loop like normal and up to about 0.60 where it would usually start falling again and do the normal up and down loop, but as it gets to 0.60 the voltage suddenly drop down to 0.00 and wont rise again! Will only do that when its completely cold, Any ideas what that is? will try post the graph from the scanner
Adam14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Ford Fiesta Forum | Ford kA Forum



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:01.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.