'68 XR Falcon questions - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > Australian Falcons
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Australian Falcons Discuss the australian born and bred models here. Includes the 80's 90's and present day Falcons offered by Ford Oz.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2004, 23:32   #1 (permalink)
New to the Ford Game

'68 XR Falcon questions

G'day,
As the profile says I'm new to the Ford game. Dare I say it, I'm mostly a holden fan but am converting now I've purchased the XR. Because most of my knowledge is on Holdens, I've got a bunch of questons about XRs. My brother in Aussie (huge Ford nut), has a massive amount of knowledge, but doesn't know it all, so he put me onto this site. Any help from members will be greatly appreciated.

Some pressing questions to start with:

XR Heater

According to some sites it seems these were an option back in
the day. How hard is it to find an original Heater system including
dash selector panel? Is there anyone out there who has fitted a non-original heating/demister system? It's fairly important over here to have a window demister, and I can only describe a previous owners earlier attempt as 'agricultural'.

Brakes

I've seen a number of ads in mags talking about disc brake upgrades for early Falcons. All these companies, such as DBA, seem to only talk about upgrades for XWs and XYs. Is it possible to get a kit for say an XW, and fit them to an XR? Also, can you/any advantage to fitting a booster/master cylinder from a later model Falcon, say XA - XC?

Window mechanisms