BA XR: Air 'Fresh' always on?? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > Australian Falcons
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Australian Falcons Discuss the australian born and bred models here. Includes the 80's 90's and present day Falcons offered by Ford Oz.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2003, 14:27   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Moby58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 29
Question BA XR: Air 'Fresh' always on??

Hi Guys,

It appears my vents are stuck on 'Fresh' and wont go to 'recirculate' when I press the control. Especially pronounced when sunroof or windows are open. I have standard aircon, not climate control.

Have added a UHF CB to the section ubder the power source/tissue holder, and the analogue clock from the Fairmonts.

Didnt notice any moving parts near where I connected wires, etc.

Anyone know if there are moving parts near those areas that may be getting caught? Or if this is a know prob on these cars??

Are the controls vacumn operated like in the good old days, or electric operated??

And are the vent settings controlled thru the body computer??
__________________
Regards, Moby
===============================================
2010 SY2 Territoty Ghia AWD Silhouette, with Cashmere interior
Moby58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2003, 16:53   #2 (permalink)
FPV GT Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Emu Heights
Age: 36
Posts: 363
Re: BA XR: Air 'Fresh' always on??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moby58
Hi Guys,

It appears my vents are stuck on 'Fresh' and wont go to 'recirculate' when I press the control. Especially pronounced when sunroof or windows are open. I have standard aircon, not climate control.

Have added a UHF CB to the section ubder the power source/tissue holder, and the analogue clock from the Fairmonts.

Didnt notice any moving parts near where I connected wires, etc.

Anyone know if there are moving parts near those areas that may be getting caught? Or if this is a know prob on these cars??

Are the controls vacumn operated like in the good old days, or electric operated??

And are the vent settings controlled thru the body computer??
What setting is the temp on, when it is set to Max then it can't only be on Fresh?
__________________
May 2003 GT Falcon - 0140 - http://members.optushome.com.au/drglasson/Car
Herrods Exhaust - Herrods Springs - Batten's Air Induction Kit - K&N Filter - Bonus Busted Auto Transmission Take 2 + Bonus Busted Diff Take 2

Last edited by DGROMS.com; 12-23-2003 at 17:04.
DGROMS.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 16:56   #3 (permalink)
FPV Tasmania Member
 
TS50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tasmania
Age: 56
Posts: 961
Re: BA XR: Air 'Fresh' always on??

no max AC only operates on recirculate
__________________
2002 Narooma Blue Manual TS50
Sunroof
TS50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2003, 20:05   #4 (permalink)
Australian BA XR6 Falcon
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 1,249
Re: BA XR: Air 'Fresh' always on??

A common problem with earlier (E series, not sure about AU) Falcon A/C's was the recirc/fresh vacuum canister would break its plastic shaft and get stuck in Fresh mode.

Stab in the dark here, but I would think on the BA, the recirc/fresh button goes thru the BCM which in turn operates a solenoid either electric or vacuum to the flap, perhaps when the windows are down or sunroof are open the BCM detects this and doesn't allow recirc.

Does the screen actually display recirc but you get fresh? if so my stab would be incorrect and it would probably point to a problem.
Kieron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 03:29   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Moby58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 29
Re: BA XR: Air 'Fresh' always on??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kieron
Does the screen actually display recirc but you get fresh? if so my stab would be incorrect and it would probably point to a problem.
Yep, ya can press button and shows recirc then fresh then recirc etc. But always fresh. Then when I got in the car 10 hours later, everything was ok!!
__________________
Regards, Moby
===============================================
2010 SY2 Territoty Ghia AWD Silhouette, with Cashmere interior
Moby58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > Australian Falcons



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BA Falcon Interior Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 5 09-16-2003 18:12
GoAuto tests BA ute FPRXR-6 Ford Ute Forum 2 07-31-2003 16:03
BA Air Pipes On EF Engine - Goes Great ! redwards General Tech 146 05-11-2003 05:31
BA Falcon Engine Reveal RPO83 Ford Worldwide News 0 09-04-2002 07:27
Ba Xr Front End FalKeen General Tech 1 08-19-2002 01:58

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:26.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.