Change BA Head Unit - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > Australian Falcons
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Australian Falcons Discuss the australian born and bred models here. Includes the 80's 90's and present day Falcons offered by Ford Oz.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2004, 15:32   #1 (permalink)
XR Madness!
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cairns
Age: 38
Posts: 118
Change BA Head Unit

What's the deal with changing the standard cd player over to something decent.
I imagine the big dealers ie. Sony, Pioneer, Alpine etc. would be loosing sales with not being able to fit a standard head unit into the BA's. (and most other new cars)
I have seen a pic where one guy installed a head unit underneath (where the tissue box goes.)
All i want to do is hook up my 10 stacker Sony and be able to shuffle through the cd's.
Anyone got ideas?
Heef101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2004, 15:41   #2 (permalink)
BA'o'Matic 100% working.
 
Dellboy999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Victoria
Age: 43
Posts: 3,838
Re: Change BA Head Unit

Get a FM modulator so it runs VIA an fm channel, you do loose some quality, but when removed no-one will ever know it was there, so will keep the car in perfect nick for selling it :0)
__________________
I did put something here, but it vanshied, I think

"So long and thanks for all the fish!"
Dellboy999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 15:41   #3 (permalink)
Blue Blood
 
ianmcginley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buried in a sand trap somewher
Age: 36
Posts: 1,375
Re: Change BA Head Unit

Welcome to the forums!

It is not possible to replace the built in unit as it also does the climate/temperature control. What you need to do is install a new head unit + amps if required to the current speaker mount points and control it seperately.

Please search the forums for more on this as it has been covered a few times before.
__________________
Falcon Killer (if you believe what Ford Service Departments have to say about me)
AU II XR6 - October 2001 ~ December 2002 - RIP
BA XR6 - December 2002 ~ Soon to disappear if Ford CRC can't fix it....

45,000km service coming up - and i'll be asking for a sizable list of fixes:
* Gearbox (3rd time)
* Steering click (5th time)
* Brake Shudder (2nd time, and has the applied "Fix")
* etc...
ianmcginley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 16:10   #4 (permalink)
XR Madness!
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cairns
Age: 38
Posts: 118
Re: Change BA Head Unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianmcginley
Welcome to the forums!

It is not possible to replace the built in unit as it also does the climate/temperature control. What you need to do is install a new head unit + amps if required to the current speaker mount points and control it seperately.

Please search the forums for more on this as it has been covered a few times before.
Just searching for newer ideas champ. Thanks but.
Heef101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 21:26   #5 (permalink)
EFII Ghia owner
 
EF_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Age: 29
Posts: 355
Re: Change BA Head Unit

or u can get the stacker from factory. Alot of car manufacturers are integrating the headunits these days, so if the aftermarked still want buisiness i reckon they better start doing something different and trying to get around the factory unit, like a biggy back unit or something.
__________________
EFII Fairmont Ghia: EL GT's, NF corner lights, Tickford intake. more soon
EF_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 03:07   #6 (permalink)
XR Madness!
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cairns
Age: 38
Posts: 118
Re: Change BA Head Unit

I agree, how is anyone able to personalise their stereo system with factory crap in the way. Damn those factory giant bully boys.
Come on Sony etc., give me something to work with!
Heef101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 03:13   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
casrms1450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brizvegas
Age: 63
Posts: 625
Re: Change BA Head Unit

In America, they have different chassis's to convert factory ICC stereo units. Wheels covered this when the BA was first released. Alpine said "different chassis's will become available when sufficient market need is identified" September 02 Wheels, I think has the article.
__________________
FairmontV8 ATPS
casrms1450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2004, 15:57   #8 (permalink)
Fully Sick Magna Driver
 
rob_o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gosford, NSW
Age: 28
Posts: 625
Re: Change BA Head Unit

Ive seen someone install an aftermarket head unit under the passenger glove box. Wouldnt look too good once its time to sell.

Although these integrated stereos may look good in new cars, they would be a pain in the ass to upgrade.
rob_o is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > Australian Falcons



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ED Futura Head Unit RadEA Audio And Security 2 10-27-2004 15:43
Head unit into EB Fairmont ghia, getting around the amp??? BOSXR8 Interior | Electrical | ECU 2 06-11-2004 05:45
BA XR8 Lag in change from Park to Reverse Komungla Trans | Driveline 13 04-11-2004 01:54
which head unit freshinXR Audio And Security 5 03-01-2004 08:59

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:59.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.