eb xr6 computer in ea? - Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars
Ford Forum Ford Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
ยป Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > Australian Falcons
Register Home Forum Active Topics Photo Gallery Auto Loans Garage Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

Australian Falcons Discuss the australian born and bred models here. Includes the 80's 90's and present day Falcons offered by Ford Oz.

FordForums.com is the premier Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2003, 06:04   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 59
eb xr6 computer in ea?

ok, i got an idea from a friend of mine when we said to me that he want's to get a peformance computer customized for his xf ute,

ok so hears my question's
is it possible to take an EA Computer and replace it with an EB XR6 computer?

and will it also make my car run differently and more like an EB xr6?

i've rang a fue stores and still no one knows if it's possible little lone how much it would cost to do this.

i have a thought that it may no be possible till get an mpfi conversion since all EB's are multi-point and my ea is cfi.

thanks.
xtream ea is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-13-2003, 07:26   #2 (permalink)
Death to Camry's!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide, SA
Age: 31
Posts: 1,375
Re: eb xr6 computer in ea?

It wont work unless you get an MPFI, on that same note, I am not sure if the wiring looms for EA's and EBIIs will work together.. so that may rule oute using the EB XR6 ecu, you will also need to remember that since it is EBII it will have smartlock, which again will effect the car's ability to run. And on a basic motor, I can't see how worth while that will be for you unless you are running an EBII/ED 4.0 with an XR6 cam or whatever.

So yeah, I don't really see the point in wasting your time on that, because more than likely it wont work
MightyEFGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2003, 11:26   #3 (permalink)
NZ
feed me hey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Age: 64
Posts: 4,692
Re: eb xr6 computer in ea?

If he was MPI there is a small chance it would work. 2/92 was the start of EB2 I think and in 1/92 smartlock was introduced. So theres a 8 month window that will be compatable. The gains would be pretty non exisant. Running the XR6 ecu youll still have the wrong cam, fuel pressure, compressin ratio, head etc...
__________________
Dot Aye You
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 05:52   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 59
Re: eb xr6 computer in ea?

thanks for the info guys. but if i did get it done then wouldn't the person installing it tune everything togeather? so it all work's that's if it's possible.
xtream ea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 06:39   #5 (permalink)
Death to Camry's!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide, SA
Age: 31
Posts: 1,375
Re: eb xr6 computer in ea?

you cant really tune it, besides. its not really worth while and i dont reckon that it would work..
MightyEFGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2003, 06:48   #6 (permalink)
pR()rN_*
 
carazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adelaide,SA Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,966
Re: eb xr6 computer in ea?

yeah I agree with the others.
NO POINT!
You'd get more power from a good exhaust and in any case it's bloody CFI.
Ditch that crap first (and look at the buy stuff section cause I have some parts you'd want to do that)
With MPFI go the exhaust and air filter and you'd have a new car.
__________________
Breathe! It's only the internet....
carazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 08:19   #7 (permalink)
Look! A flying orangutan!
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: perth
Age: 31
Posts: 3,104
Re: eb xr6 computer in ea?

You don't need the computer, the stock EA MPFI computer is good for many $$$ worth of mods before you need an upgraded computer - even then I suspect the EL unit is better (and it plugs in with ease, just modify 6 wires).
As above: lose the CFI, do the exhaust and get a 4L cam, then start thinking about the computer bro!
__________________
Proud TQE Operator and President of SEFAG - the Society for the Elimination of Ford Automatic Gearboxes

Pacemaker headers + 2.5" exhaust
EF Fairmont interior
MP3 player
Lowered King springs
5 speed manual
EF motor

Newest mod: EF Ghia wiring loom and dash
mongrelEB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2003, 20:54   #8 (permalink)
FORD its a way of Life
 
StarkEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Shepparton
Posts: 206
Re: eb xr6 computer in ea?

Quote:
even then I suspect the EL unit is better (and it plugs in with ease, just modify 6 wires).
modifying 6 wires still wouldn't work in a EA will it?? coz the EL ecu has smarthlock. If it dose can you let me know what wireing mods need to be done.
__________________
1998 EL Fairmont Ghia in Burgundy, Tickford enchenced, Leather Int, Lowered with White Line Works Kit, 17" ROH hi polished rims. AU XR snorkel.
StarkEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 08:34   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 59
Re: Re: eb xr6 computer in ea?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mongrelEB
You don't need the computer, the stock EA MPFI computer is good for many $$$ worth of mods before you need an upgraded computer - even then I suspect the EL unit is better (and it plugs in with ease, just modify 6 wires).
As above: lose the CFI, do the exhaust and get a 4L cam, then start thinking about the computer bro!

what's a cam and where abouts can i get one?
xtream ea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 16:30   #10 (permalink)
Death to Camry's!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Adelaide, SA
Age: 31
Posts: 1,375
Re: eb xr6 computer in ea?

cam is short for camshaft. it controls the opening and closing of the intake and exhaust valves in the engine. you get them from performance shops, but you cant change it yourself unless you know what you are doing. it is relatively easy though since the E-series I6's are Overhead Cam
MightyEFGhia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Forums - Mustang Forum, Ford Trucks, Ford Focus and Ford Cars > Ford Cars and PAG Vehicles > Australian Ford's Discussion > Australian Falcons



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EB backend onto an EA. AUII_Forte General Tech 9 01-06-2006 03:18
Ea or EB blinkAU General Tech 5 06-04-2003 08:01
EB -> EA door trim Whitey Ford General Tech 8 09-02-2002 00:25
El computer into EB? Rollin Interior | Electrical | ECU 9 08-15-2002 02:01

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.